Jump to content



Photo

Lieutenants - Can they move/attack like heroes?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Terragen

Terragen

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 10:08 AM

In 1st Edition, Lieutenants could attack twice or move twice, just like heroes. In 2nd edition, the rules do not state if they can or cannot, one way or the other.

The only thing the rules state is they "have attributes and perform attribute tests just like heroes" but nothing else comparable to heroes is listed. It says they are "treated as monster figures for all purposes including figure activations". So I'm assuming they can only have one attack and one move in their turn, unlike the original Descent. But it seems this makes Lieutenants too weak. How can I possibly run that fat goblin Splig with his prisoner if he only gets 3 move a turn? Where are my powerful Lieutenants that can act like heroes??



#2 Antistone

Antistone

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 10:21 AM

Monsters in second edition can ALL double-move; they can do any combination of 2 actions except double-attack.



#3 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 10:57 AM

 Double move + Dash is how you get your fat goblin out.  Hold onto both Dash cards until the end run!



#4 Sausageman

Sausageman

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 12:28 AM

Rico said:

 Double move + Dash is how you get your fat goblin out.  Hold onto both Dash cards until the end run!

On this subject, am I right in saying you can play multiple 'dash' cards on the same monster?  Allowing them to move a ridiculous amount of squares?



#5 Bleached Lizard

Bleached Lizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 774 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 12:45 AM

Sausageman said:

Rico said:

 

 Double move + Dash is how you get your fat goblin out.  Hold onto both Dash cards until the end run!

 

 

On this subject, am I right in saying you can play multiple 'dash' cards on the same monster?  Allowing them to move a ridiculous amount of squares?

Not on the same activation, no.



#6 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 06:15 AM

Bleached Lizard said:

Sausageman said:

 

Rico said:

 

 Double move + Dash is how you get your fat goblin out.  Hold onto both Dash cards until the end run!

 

 

On this subject, am I right in saying you can play multiple 'dash' cards on the same monster?  Allowing them to move a ridiculous amount of squares?

 

 

Not on the same activation, no.

Because the rules specify that no more than one Overlord card of the same name can be played in response to the same trigger (in the case of Dash, the monster being Activated)



#7 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 09:25 AM

 Correct - one dash per turn. Optimal is three turns to get out if unimpeeded.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS