Jump to content



Photo

move diagonally between enemy units


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 06:24 AM

 Can a non-jump infantry unit move diagonally between 2 enemy units.

x A

B x

ex. move from A to B if the x's are enemy units? It came up tonight in a game with a friend and we decided it could be done. What is the ruling for a situation like this?

Thank you.

 

 



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 07:14 AM

Absolutely not. Only flying or jumping units can do that.



#3 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 07:48 AM

 No, enemy units are impassible just like the terrain tiles so you cannot move a unit through touching corners.



#4 Pedro Lunaris

Pedro Lunaris

    Member

  • Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 08:58 AM

 They also block LOS, right? From squads and heroes, that is.



#5 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 09:11 AM

Yes.                            



#6 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 04:01 PM

 Thanks for the reply. We weren't sure. The good news was it did not matter as it was round 7 of level 3 of Blue Thunder. Ozz and Grim reapers had blasted their way through a wall and it was impossible for anyone to attack them in that round. The following round they could not be blocked or attached. Heroic attack would guarantee the win.

On a related note: can you move diagonally past enemy units.

ex. move from A to B, x = enemy and -- = empty square.

A x 

-- B

 

Thank you. My friend is thinking about picking up the game to play with his son as well. Hopefully he does.



#7 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:36 PM

TallDwarf said:

On a related note: can you move diagonally past enemy units.

 

That depends on what unit you're trying to move. Enemy units are impassable terrain, pretty much the same as a wall for movement purposes. So an infantry unit could perform the action you indicated, but a tank unit can't cut corners, so it would need to first move into the empty space before moving on to B (unless the enemy is an infantry and the tank has Jump).



#8 Pedro Lunaris

Pedro Lunaris

    Member

  • Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 09:45 AM

Loophole Master said:


That depends on what unit you're trying to move. Enemy units are impassable terrain, pretty much the same as a wall for movement purposes. So an infantry unit could perform the action you indicated, but a tank unit can't cut corners, so it would need to first move into the empty space before moving on to B (unless the enemy is an infantry and the tank has Jump).

 

But does enemy units counts as corners? They provide cover for adjacent units, for instance? It sounds strange to me that a tank would have the same care with enemy troops as it has with a corner wall.



#9 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:17 AM

Impassable terrain is impassable terrain, no matter what's in it. It can be a wall, a tank trap, water, a walker, a squad, or even a lone hero. If it's something the tank considers impassable, it must go around it.

It's not about being careful about not stepping on an enemy squad, otherwise tanks would be able to simply walk over them. It's just that the squad is dominating that area.



#10 Pedro Lunaris

Pedro Lunaris

    Member

  • Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 04 August 2012 - 05:08 PM

 Alright, got it, thanks! Sorry about repeating doubts, I'm still trying to get the singularities of the game. That being said, and just to be sure, does a squad privide corner cover? Like:

A B

X C

X is a vacant square, the others are squads, and A is attacking C. C has cover, considering B?

 

Thanks in advance!



#11 Dcal12

Dcal12

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 12:43 PM

 Yes C has cover.



#12 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:34 AM

It didn't initially, but under the latest rules squads do offer corner cover.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS