Jump to content



Photo

BattleTactics.tv Tournament Rules Review and Battle Report SSU Vs Allies 300ap


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:02 AM

 



#2 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 07:35 AM

I like the video a lot, and look forward to the rest of the battle.

However, I think the units that are in the copters must remain active until the helicopter is deployed. I'm not 100% sure about this, so maybe someone else can verify.



#3 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 07:38 AM

 You can activate while on board and off table.  On a short table I don't know why the copters deployed like that, they could both have moved 4 and unloaded the Close Assault squads to decimate the Grim Reaper units, we'll find out in episode 17 :)



#4 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 07:59 AM

Major Mishap said:

 You can activate while on board and off table.  

 

 

Found this in the rules:

 

While a unit is inside a vehicle, it cannot use any skills or perform any actions
unless it possesses a special skill that says otherwise. The unit cannot be activated except
to exit the vehicle
. When the vehicle is activated, the units inside it are not.

So if they start off in the vehicle, it is my understanding that they can't be activated until the vehicle is. I take this as including activating to pass. 

I could be wrong though.



#5 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 08:11 AM

 The FAQ say's the opposite:

 

Q: One of my units is riding in a transport
and I don’t want to have it disembark yet.
Do I still have to activate it?
A: Yes. A unit that is embarked on a transport must still be
activated. It may choose to pass on its actions, but its activation
must still take place.
 

 

 



#6 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 02 August 2012 - 01:39 PM

We have gone back and forth on this one and FFG says you can pass a unit in a Helo before it is deployed. However, he did do something wrong. You can not pass the hero and then the unit. If you declare a hero in a unit you pass the whole unit. However, it did not change the out come of the battle.



#7 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 05 August 2012 - 02:28 PM

 Round 1 is up click below for video. I messed up a lot this round, oh well we live and learn. You have to watch out for everything against SSU!



#8 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 10:38 AM

Any chance of lowering the background music, had to turn of after a while as I couldn't here you two speaking.



#9 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 04:31 PM

Just for you Mishap! Here is the video with less background music:

 



#10 xBeakeRx

xBeakeRx

    Member

  • Members
  • 200 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 06:03 PM

 Hey guys, let me first say your battle reports are great, very informative and a lot of great information for us noobs just getting into the game.  That being said, I had a question that I thought you could clarify.

 

When the SSU player deployed his Fakyeli and shot at the grim reapers inside the building, he rolled for all of his "ignore cover" weapons first.  I believe what should have happened is he rolled the grenade weapons separate from the sulfur thrower, because the sulfur thrower is and incendiary blast and is treated differently than other weapons.  It is my understanding that you would have rolled one die for each model in the unit (which you did) and every hit inflicts one damage to the unit.  Therefore, depending on how many of those 7 dice you rolled together were from the sulfur thrower, you would not have simply been able to assign them all to Ozz to mitigate the damage.  Is that correct or am I wrong in my interpretation of the rule?

 

Thanks for any info.  I'm a new player and just recently got into Dust Tactics, so I'm just trying to get a clear understanding of the rules.



#11 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 12:50 AM

Thanks for that, I can hear what you are saying now :)

They did play the shooting ok xBeakeRx as the defender can allocate any hits how he likes.



#12 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 04:34 AM

 If you are using a flame weapon that does 1/1 damage and another miniature has a grenade weapon that does 3/1 damage, since they all ignore cover and do a max of one damage just roll them all at once. Now if I was attacking a armor 3 light walker with the same unit I would have to roll the Flame weapon first because it does 1/4 damage and the grenade weapon separate since it only does 1/1.

The defender picks how to distribute the hits across the unit.

Attacking with a unit that has"sniper" ability is the only time the attacker gets to pick who he shot at.

Sniper
A unit with this skill carries a long-range weapon that allows him to choose his target from a safe distance. When declaring a target, the player specifies which miniature he is targeting (instead of an entire unit). if he obtains a, inflict one damage to that miniature. A sniper does not share this skill with the rest of his squad.



#13 xBeakeRx

xBeakeRx

    Member

  • Members
  • 200 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 05:43 AM

 OK, well I guess I was confused by the wording for incendiary weapons in the rule book. The book says role one die for each model, if the test is failed that model takes 1 wound. So what about a scenario in which you only fired a flamethrower at that same squad, and 3 hits were rolled? Could you still assign all 3 to Ozz, or would 3 different models have to each take 1 wound?



#14 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 05:49 AM

Incendiary weapons roll 1 die per model in the target unit, but then the hits are distributed in whatever way the target player desires.



#15 xBeakeRx

xBeakeRx

    Member

  • Members
  • 200 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:28 AM

 Alright, thanks for the clarification



#16 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:44 AM

Aren't limited ammo weapons "owned" by the entire unit, so even though there could be one model left in the unit, it has all of the limited weapons until they are used?



#17 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:03 AM

Yes.                               



#18 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:53 AM

 That's correct, if you had one model left and three panzerfausts, the model could fire one a turn for three turns.



#19 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:36 PM

 yes but it can only uses one at a time since there is only one miniature left. In this case there was three miniature left so he could uses up to 3 limited ammo weapons.



#20 OptimusPrime21

OptimusPrime21

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:36 PM

I guess he got three answers didn't see the 2nd page :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS