Jump to content



Photo

Bladesinger from accursed dead


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mydnight

mydnight

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:12 PM

How exactly does the return-to-deck ability work in the following scenarios?

 

1) Opponent assigns more than 2 combat damage to  bladesinger

2) Bladesinger is the target of a 2 damage tactic

 

 

Thanks …



#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 464 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:38 PM

Action: If this unit has 2 or less damage on it or assigned to it, return this unit to the top of its owner's deck.

 

You can use the action during any action window, if the condition is fulfilled.

 

1) You cannot use an action during the assign damage step of the battlefield phase. By the time you could trigger it, the condition is no longer fulfilled.

 

2) You can use the action in response to the tactic, since the condition is still fulfilled. If you don't, the unit will be dealt the damage when the tactic resolves, and then it will immediately be destroyed since it has damage tokens at least equal to its hit points. There is no action window in between assigning and applying non-combat damage during which you could use the tactic.



#3 Ellyrik

Ellyrik

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 07:24 PM

Mallumo said:

1) You cannot use an action during the assign damage step of the battlefield phase. By the time you could trigger it, the condition is no longer fulfilled.

 

I don't understand your 1) : one can use the ability during the action phase following the assign damage step, no?



#4 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 464 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 07:37 PM

Yes. But the original question was what happens when Bladesinger is assigned more than 2 combat damage. The condition wouldn't be fulfilled anymore then.

 

If Bladesinger is assigned just 1 or 2 combat damage, you can use its action during the action window following the assign damage step.



#5 Ellyrik

Ellyrik

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 11:03 PM

 Oh right! More than 2 damage assigned prevents triggering the ability. Sorry, missed that.



#6 mydnight

mydnight

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 11:43 PM

Thanks.

Hmmn, that would make the Bladesinger ability rather weak in combat.



#7 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 464 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 11:56 PM

Since your opponent needs to assign at least three damage to prevent you from returning Bladesinger to your deck, you are essentially getting a 3 Power, 3 HP defender for free if you have the developments. That's quite good. I like the Bladesinger.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS