Jump to content



Photo

Post your questions for the first official FAQ


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
150 replies to this topic

#1 ffgMark

ffgMark

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:35 AM

Hello Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition fans! Please post your rules questions to this thread. We will then consider them for inclusion in the first official FAQ for Second Edition.

Thanks!



#2 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 799 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:37 AM

Provide us a formal ruling on the bahvior of Stun.

One camp argues that Stun allows you to utilize your first action to get rid of the card.  Once you no longer have the card, you have 1 action left.

The second camp argues that the ONLY thing you can do on your turn when you are stunned is to get rid of the card, and then your turn ends.



#3 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:38 AM

Yeah! Thank you. I know a lot of people on here will love this! I'll start:

1) Do the Heroes have to determine their play order before the first player takes his first action?

2) When you are stunned, do you lose your whole next turn, or just one action to discard the stun card?

I could post all the others on here, but I'll let others contribute. :)



#4 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 799 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:52 AM

Conversion Kit: Hellhounds

Surge: Fire Breath: Starting with the target space, trace a path of 4 spaces in any direction.  All figures on this path are affected by this attack.  Each figure rolls defense dice separately.

Given that the language above specifies a "path" and "any direction", does the use of Fire Brreath have to trace in a straight line, or can it zig zag in multiple directions?



#5 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:59 AM

Does anything block the Thief's Greedy Skill? Do doors? Walls? Monsters? Does the Thief need Line of Sight?



#6 jjcole

jjcole

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:08 AM

 1. Some tiles graphics show the black line of the wall extending passed the corner, partially into the next tile. Does this have any effect on movement or LOS (like columns do in Wiz-War) or is it simply for decorative purposes?

2. If two adjacent tiles have a wall between them, but the tiles to one side are both empty and obstacle-free, are the tiles adjacent and do they have LOS to each other, since they share a corner? Or does the wall block LOS and adjacency just as it blocks movement? The Fat Goblin farm area is what I'm thinking of here, maybe someone can add an image to better explain.



#7 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:34 AM

1. OL played dark charm on hero and hero failed test.

  1. Can hero roll defense dice if forced to attack himself?
  2. Can OL spend surges on weapon abilities?
  3. Can hero use his items like shield or armor to add defense?
  4. Can OL use hero items to add surges like Mana Weave? What about Lucky Charm?
  5. Will attack get bonuses from hero skill:
  • Eagle Eyes (will monsters be ignored for LOS)?
  • Accurate?
  • Bow Mastery?
  • First part of Sneaky skill?

2. Runemaster with Exploding Rune skill equipped with Ice Storm perform skill action to attack 1-square monster which have 3 monsters adjacent to it. All 4 monster have at least 1 damage inflicted to them after defense rolls and hero uses [surge]: Immobilize weapon ability. Are all 4 monsters will be immobilized or just the one who was the initial target for an attack?

3. In quest The Dawnblade encounter 1 is it possible to trace LOS from leftmost search marker 2 to search marker 3?



#8 eeeealmo

eeeealmo

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:45 AM

In the "Death On The Wing" quest description, guards do not activate until a hero or monster is on the same time.  What is to prevent the Overlord's monsters killing the 2 visible guards from the Waterfall tile with ranged attacks, which would technically not activate them?



#9 Buggy

Buggy

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:58 AM

  1. Does "Word of Misery" inflict one fatigue per damage suffered or one fatigue per source of damages?
  2. If "Word of Misery" inflicts a fatigue to an exhausted hero, would the subsequent damage trigger "Word of Misery" again? (and again, and again…)
  3. Can a hero suffer fatigue to gain a movement point in response to a "Pit Trap" in order to avoid being stunned?
  4. Should a hero be defeated during his turn, may he use his possibly remaining actions to stand back up immediately?

 



#10 exy

exy

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:00 AM

Please confirm that the second Line of Sight example on page 12 of the rules is correct (because figures block LOS into their own "rearward" corners).  The bolded "any corner" text in the LOS rules, without any reminder of figure-occupied spaces blocking LOS, has raised this question at least 3 times in this forum plus a couple other times on BGG.



#11 fitsou

fitsou

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:04 AM

The Desecrated Tomb

The Dragon can attack the open group if one of the open group figures have the Sword?

If Sir Arlic and Heroes are in an adjustement region of the dragon who the dragon attacks?

 

a better explanation of how the LoS works!

 

and more importanly the question that jjcole asked! about the tiles!

you can find an example in this link boardgamegeek.com/thread/834638/the-desecrated-tomb-question



#12 shnar

shnar

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,296 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:10 AM

When an NPC suffers fatigue (for example, Cardinal Koth attacked after Word of Misery is played), since he has not fatigue at all, does he suffer wounds instead (following normal Hero rules if they have already suffered max fatigue)?

On a turn where a Hero revives himself/herself, it states in the rules that he/she can perform no other actions that turn. What about non-actions? Such as taking a Fatigue Potion, or burning Fatigue for movement, or using a Skill that isn't an Action skill, or a Hero Special Ability, or a Hero Feat?

When a large monster 'interrupts' his movement, to say Open A Door or Make An Attack, does he need to be fully placed on the map on empty spaces? Or can he temporarily stand on a friendly figure, perform his attack, and move off ending his movement on an area with empty spaces?

In The Fat Goblin, if the heroes manage to kill all the goblins before Splig finds Frederick, is this an automatic win for the Heroes? Can Splig go fetch/interrogate the remaining prisoners?

Do Doors block the Barghest's Howl ability? Or other ranged, non-attack abilities?

In the Epic Variant, can the Heroes sell back their starting equipment for 25 gold each before the game begins like they can in Campaign mode?

Where's our expansion already?!? ;)

-shnar



#13 shnar

shnar

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,296 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:25 AM

When you use Blast, enemy figures and friendly figures are targeted but what about the figure who fired the blast? Is he considered a 'friendly' figure as well? (the rulebook makes a distinction in the Movement rules, implying the figure is not friendly to himself)

When can I buy another set of dice?!?

-shnar



#14 JeremyEdwardBauerle

JeremyEdwardBauerle

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:33 AM

Assume a hero is poisoned and has one health remaining.  At the start the hero's turn, he must roll an attribute check for the poison.  Assume he failed and suffered 1 damage, causing a knock-out from the poison damage.  My questions in this scenario are:

  • Can this knocked-out hero use his turn to "stand up"?
  • If this hero is revived by another hero on this same round, can that just-revived (previously knocked-out) hero take any actions? (or was his turn completely lost from the poison death?)


#15 cadamec

cadamec

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:36 AM

In 'Shadow Rune' when Zachareth is defeated and re-spawned at the entrance, does he come back with full health? Does he apply the 'stand up' mechanic to regain health?



#16 JeremyEdwardBauerle

JeremyEdwardBauerle

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:37 AM

Can you please clarify when Cardinal Koth can be activate (moved)?

The Questbook provides two different interpretations:

  • Cardinal Koth can only be moved once a hero ends his turn adjacent to the Cardinal.
  • Cardinal Koth's spoken flavor text when the heroes open the door indicate that the Cardinal is ready to move now that the door has been opened.

 



#17 Bleached Lizard

Bleached Lizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:41 AM

 How exactly do Movement actions work?  Can a figure interrupt its Movement action to perform another Movement action, and if so, how do the players differentiate between spaces that were moved due to the first and second Movement actions (and what if a card instructs you to "end your Movement action")?  Can a hero spend fatigue in the middle of a Movement action, and if so, how do the players differentiate between spaces that were moved due to the action and spaces that were moved due to fatigue?

How does the Thief skill "Caltrops" work exactly?  It causes monsters to become Immobilised during their own turn, which typically has no effect if a figure has already begun its Movement action.  Does "may not perform movement actions" on the Immobilise card also imply that the figure may not *continue* performing a Movement action it has already begun?

Does the "Zacareth Only" text on The Shadow Rune card apply to the whole card or only to the first line?

In "The Cardinal's Plight", Encounter 2, is Cardinal Koth rescued when a hero is adjacent to him or when a hero opens the door?

Is the dwarf warrior hero's ability (I forget his name - Grisban the Thirsty, or something) stated correctly, as the only condition it currently has any real effect against is Diseased?



#18 JeremyEdwardBauerle

JeremyEdwardBauerle

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:44 AM

Are you considering selling the following:

  • extra sets of dice
  • a set of plastic lieutenant miniatures
  • individual plastic lieutenant miniatures
  • a plastic miniature for the Necromancer's Reanimate
  • sets of plastic miniatures of monsters from Descent (1st ed) and its Expansions
  • individual or sets of plastic miniatures of heroes from Descent (1st ed) and its Expansions

 

Are you considering creating additional Print-on-Demand quest packs and/or campaigns utilizing the base Descent (2nd ed) package?



#19 mcfl

mcfl

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:45 AM

 How does the Leoric of the Book ability work? Is it applied before or after the defense? Does it affect damage obtained through surges?

 

1st case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 3 damage; defending hero rolls 2 defense. Does the hero suffer 1 damage? Or no damage at all? In other words, does the minimum of 1 damage rule apply to the roll? or to the overall result of the attack?

 

2nd case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 1 damage and 1 surge, defending hero rolls 0 defense. The monster can spend the surge to get +2 damage. Does the monster deal a total of 3 damage (Leoric's ability is applied before spending the surge and then the damage cannot be reduced below 1)? or a total of 2 damage? (Leoric's ability is applied after the surge has been spent).



#20 skullcap

skullcap

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 07:07 AM

 How soon will the FAQ be available?  We need answers!! :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS