Jump to content



Photo

Heavy Stroke? Help!


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 10:10 PM

Can some one help me out here?

"Heavy Stroke

Response: After a Dwarf deals X damage to an enemy during combat, deal and additional X damage to that enemy. (Limit once per phase.) "

How the heck would I know exactly how much damage came from the Dwarf if multiple characters are attacking?
Can I choose freely up to the Dwarf's Attack-limit?

/wolf



#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 10:50 PM

im not 100% but i think you take the dwarf damage dealt only, and deal it again, not counting of course the damage by others

so for eg. gimli and aragorn deal 5 damage collectively, with aragorn dealing 3 and gimli 2 - you play the event and take the two damage and deal it again

im interested on others insight to this

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 11:47 PM

Yes.

My question though is this:

If three characters attack; only one dwarf; Attack Values 2+3(dwarf)+4 = 9
Defense of the Enemy is 4…. Damage would be 5.

Is it up to me as a player to simply declare 3 out of those 5 as being "dealt by the dwarf" and add another 3?
The card is referring damage. Not Attack Value. Yet Damage can come from multiple Characters and some of it is deducted along the way…

I'm only confused because this is the only card that would have me track how much damage (not attack value) comes from what character.

Or, so it seems…

/wolf



#4 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,707 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 11:49 PM

 This is an interesting question. Say the enemy has 3 defense, so does Aragorn's attack take the defense to 0 and Gimli deals 2 damage? Or does Gimli take the defense to 1, and Aragorn has one attack point absorbed by the defense and 2 points go to damage? I'm inclined to believe that the designers intended this to be used only when a dwarf attacks alone.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#5 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:00 AM

Budgernaut said:

 

 This is an interesting question. Say the enemy has 3 defense, so does Aragorn's attack take the defense to 0 and Gimli deals 2 damage? Or does Gimli take the defense to 1, and Aragorn has one attack point absorbed by the defense and 2 points go to damage? I'm inclined to believe that the designers intended this to be used only when a dwarf attacks alone.

 

 

 

This is exactly my question. :-)
I would like to believe it is up to the player to decide… but it could be multiple players involved… so who decides? First Player?
This discussion could be even more complicated if you consider some effects linked to "killing".

For example:

Dvalin

Response: After Dwalin attacks and destroys an Orc enemy, lower your threat by 2.

If Dvalins Attack was only used to "reduce enemy Defense" while another character actually killed the Enemy…. can I still trigger Dvalin's effect?


Personally I would hate having to split attack values up in details like this so I'm hoping for a "yes" to this question as well.

 

/wolf



#6 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,301 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:01 AM

I already asked this here and the answer by most players was that the whole attack value counts. It's simply not possible to determine the damage that a single character caused in a multi-attack. Say the defender has 3 points damage and you attack with Aragorn and Gimli - that's two points damage, but dealt by which character? Is a player able to choose, so that Aragorn cancels the defense and Gimli causes the damage?



#7 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:06 AM

leptokurt said:

I already asked this here and the answer by most players was that the whole attack value counts./…/

That would be even simpler… but it would also open up the possibility of having HUGE damage values since you practically double it…. that would make this card awesome. *worried look*

/wolf



#8 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:18 AM

leptokurt said:

I already asked this here and the answer by most players was that the whole attack value counts. It's simply not possible to determine the damage that a single character caused in a multi-attack. Say the defender has 3 points damage and you attack with Aragorn and Gimli - that's two points damage, but dealt by which character? Is a player able to choose, so that Aragorn cancels the defense and Gimli causes the damage?

 

This is very sloppy thinking.. and it is not your fault the card is terribly worded. Though this seams like typical "player picking the best option".. not the most logical or most "correct".

How I play it is kinda like what rich said..  and it should be noted there is nothing official, so this is just my own house rule.. but… … .

If Aragorn and Gloin attack a monster with 3 defence… then as Gloin is unable to place dmg at all then you can not double it. So the card is not usable. What I am getting at that untll we get a rulling from Nate.. the way I am playing this card is that the dwalf needs to be able to place dmg by himself with no help form others, regardless of being used in joint attacks, and it only doubles HIS damage. So say you attack a 1(D) / 5(L) monster with Arragorn and Gloin… that is 4 total dmg (3+2-1) but Gloin can hit it for 1 by himself.. so you can use this card to double that and make it 2.. so it is 3+2-1+1 = 5

This card defiantly needs a official ruling

 


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#9 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:03 AM

Huh… that's a third or fourth option / interpretation.

I see it's not "just me" that has problems with this card. Comforting, in a way.

I don't agree with your house rule, but that's okay.

Reason is that it would lead me to think you don't use Dwalin's ability either unless he can slay an enemy single-handedly… and surely this cannot be the case?

BTW I'm not agreeing with adding it all up and double it either. And my own house-rule is not perfect either…. all of these attempts to fix the holes (mine included) seem like they just bring up more questions.

/wolf



#10 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:07 AM

GhostWolf69 said:

I don't agree with your house rule, but that's okay.

Reason is that it would lead me to think you don't use Dwalin's ability either unless he can slay an enemy single-handedly… and surely this cannot be the case?

not slay… put at least 1 point of dmg on by himself.. and then the card doubles THAT dmg witch is added to the total dmg that is normally calculated in a joint attack.

But yeah it is a house rule so i am not saying this is correct.. it just feels right to me.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#11 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:13 AM

booored said:

GhostWolf69 said:

I don't agree with your house rule, but that's okay.

 

Reason is that it would lead me to think you don't use Dwalin's ability either unless he can slay an enemy single-handedly… and surely this cannot be the case?

 

not slay… put at least 1 point of dmg on by himself.. and then the card doubles THAT dmg witch is added to the total dmg that is normally calculated in a joint attack.

But yeah it is a house rule so i am not saying this is correct.. it just feels right to me.

I heard you. but I switched card (sorry for the confusion). The Dwalin card says if he "attacks and destroys an enemy"…. It doesn't say he has to attack alone… so how can you tell if Dwalin slays anything if there are multiple attackers involved? Would you apply the same thinking as you did on "Heavy Stroke" comparing Dwalin-by-him-self first to see if the Response is valid?

I wouldn't.

/wolf



#12 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:17 AM

Basically what we are talking about / asking ourselves here is the this:

What is the difference (if any) between "dealing damage" and "participating in an attack that deals damage".

What is the difference (if any) between "attacking and destroying an enemy" and "participating in an attack that destroys an enemy".

/wolf



#13 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:45 AM

GhostWolf69 said:

booored said:

 

GhostWolf69 said:

I don't agree with your house rule, but that's okay.

 

Reason is that it would lead me to think you don't use Dwalin's ability either unless he can slay an enemy single-handedly… and surely this cannot be the case?

 

not slay… put at least 1 point of dmg on by himself.. and then the card doubles THAT dmg witch is added to the total dmg that is normally calculated in a joint attack.

But yeah it is a house rule so i am not saying this is correct.. it just feels right to me.

 

 

I heard you. but I switched card (sorry for the confusion). The Dwalin card says if he "attacks and destroys an enemy"…. It doesn't say he has to attack alone… so how can you tell if Dwalin slays anything if there are multiple attackers involved? Would you apply the same thinking as you did on "Heavy Stroke" comparing Dwalin-by-him-self first to see if the Response is valid?

I wouldn't.

/wolf

I thought we were talking about heavy stroke…. Dwalin's ability is like Lego's ability and he just need to participate in the attack. This is nto related to heavy stroke at all.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#14 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:52 AM

booored said:

I thought we were talking about heavy stroke…. Dwalin's ability is like Lego's ability and he just need to participate in the attack. This is nto related to heavy stroke at all.

I disagree. Legolas ability explicitly says "participates in an attack". Dwalin's ability does NOT. Hence my confusion and the topic at hand.

If damage dealt from a specific character triggers an effect…. what happens when that character "participates"?

In Legolas case it is obvious because Participation is enough to trigger it.

In the case of Dwalin it is not so obvious.

Heavy Stroke suffers from exactly the same ambiguity. IMO.

/wolf



#15 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:54 AM

has someone sent this to nate? becuase i dont think we're going to figure it out without ffg's official ruling


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#16 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:58 AM

GhostWolf69 said:

Basically what we are talking about / asking ourselves here is the this:

 

What is the difference (if any) between "dealing damage" and "participating in an attack that deals damage".

What is the difference (if any) between "attacking and destroying an enemy" and "participating in an attack that destroys an enemy".

/wolf

 

1) I think that there is a difference… This card is cast on a single character.. and triggers of THAT characters dmg. This is obviously (imo) a different game state than a combined attack. The card can only hit dwarfs, and only one at a time it seams pretty clear to me that this means the effect needs to be separated. Even if you attacked with two dwarfs, the event can only target one of them… So by definition of how events work.. you have to only count 1 of the attacking dwarfs. (that is how i see it anyway)


2) If you are trying to lift a box, and 2 people lift it together, then the box has been lifted up.. regardless of how much each individual has contributed.. this is the same for destroying a monster. The end result is the monster is destroyed and Dwalin / Lego DID attack it.. so their effects triggers.

 


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#17 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:04 AM

GhostWolf69 said:

I disagree. Legolas ability explicitly says "participates in an attack". Dwalin's ability does NOT. Hence my confusion and the topic at hand.

If damage dealt from a specific character triggers an effect…. what happens when that character "participates"?

In Legolas case it is obvious because Participation is enough to trigger it.

In the case of Dwalin it is not so obvious.

this is a good point but our conversation is going faster than I can type!! I'll copy my other post to get everythign in order again..

If you are trying to lift a box, and 2 people lift it together, then the box has been lifted up.. regardless of how much each individual has contributed.. this is the same for destroying a monster. The end result is the monster is destroyed and Dwalin / Lego DID attack it.. so their effects triggers.

Now granted the card dose not have the participate text, but

Response: After Dwalin attacks and destroys an Orc enemy, lower your threat by 2.

So… it is saying that he has to attack an orc, and the orc has to die. That is it.. participating or attacking solo dose not change the trigger events in any way.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#18 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:13 AM

booored said:

 

1) I think that there is a difference… This card is cast on a single character.. and triggers of THAT characters dmg. This is obviously (imo) a different game state than a combined attack. The card can only hit dwarfs, and only one at a time it seams pretty clear to me that this means the effect needs to be separated. Even if you attacked with two dwarfs, the event can only target one of them… So by definition of how events work.. you have to only count 1 of the attacking dwarfs. (that is how i see it anyway)


2) If you are trying to lift a box, and 2 people lift it together, then the box has been lifted up.. regardless of how much each individual has contributed.. this is the same for destroying a monster. The end result is the monster is destroyed and Dwalin / Lego DID attack it.. so their effects triggers.

 

I see your point and I agree on how you resolve Dwalin's ability. That is the way I'm playing it too. But for clarity's sake they could have worded it as "participates" if that is what they intended… just like they did on Legolas. It's inconsistent to have different wordings when you mean the same thing, and causes confusion. At least for me.

In the case of Heavy Stroke I don't agree with your resolution though. But that is okay, we all have our own house rules when the game doesn't provide us clear guidance.

I still think the two cases boils down to the same issue though:

If the card doesn't say "attacks alone" and doesn't say "participates in an attack", but still clearly target one specific character… then how should we play it?

Neither Heavy Stroke nor Dwalin's ability is clear on that.

/wolf



#19 GhostWolf69

GhostWolf69

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:19 AM

booored said:

Response: After Dwalin attacks and destroys an Orc enemy, lower your threat by 2.

So… it is saying that he has to attack an orc, and the orc has to die. That is it.. participating or attacking solo dose not change the trigger events in any way.

It could also be interpreted that Dwalin has to Destroy the Orc.

After Dwalin /…/ Destroys an Orc.

But… we still agree on how to play that one. And yes… we are going a little fast… maybe we should take five?

/wolf



#20 Memetix

Memetix

    Member

  • Members
  • 443 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:35 AM

 For what its worth, I'm interpreting Heavy Stoke as "After a Dwarf participate in an attack that deals X damage, deal an additional X damage to that enemy. (Limit once per phase.) "

As RichSabre has suggested, we need an official answer from Nate.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS