Jump to content



Photo

Regroup order a better version of Blitzkrieg?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tapierscheisse

tapierscheisse

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 06:53 PM

It’s always good to reread your rules Book, after you have a little bit of experience.

A friend of mine found this little gem:

Regroup
The ordered unit removes all of its Suppression and Reaction markers (see “Reaction Markers” on page 35 and “Suppression Markers” on page 46). It may then have new Unit Leader designated. Lastly, every miniature that is not the Unit Leader may move up to 6”, following normal movement rules.

Let’s analyse this order
- Remove Suppression & Reaction marker
- designate new Leader
- Move every non Leader Miniature 6”

The last sentence is what really makes that order shine

It effectively makes the Regroup order a Blitzkrieg order, leaving the unit Leader behind.

I guess this was not what the authors had in mind, but you can use this order to effectively move your unit 5” towards your enemy.

Why 5”? Because, if you are not within 6” if your leader (which is 5” apart”) you have to regroup in the Unit phase and thus go back until you are in Command Range.

True or did I miss something?
Is Regroup the rich man’s version of Blitzkrieg?
FAQ this one if I am correct, because it seriously breaks the game!
 



#2 Drag0n

Drag0n

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:37 AM

 Obviously last sentence is non standalone rule, but part of designation new Leader. It will be great if you emailed this to FFG for clearing and adding to FAQ.



#3 tapierscheisse

tapierscheisse

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:38 AM

Forget about the 5". It's bull. You have to stay within 6" of your leader and that's it.



#4 tapierscheisse

tapierscheisse

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:45 AM

I would suggest something like that:

… Lastly the unit may Move out of Formation miniatures, as detailed on p 32 to regain Unit coherency.

that would be more to the Intention of the rule.



#5 slainex

slainex

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:14 AM

Bravo! its about time somebody else figured out this exploit. Kinda funny when a  SSU 11 man blob has a 23 inch threat range and rolls 28 dice vs infantry 2. 



#6 ItsUncertainWho

ItsUncertainWho

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 04:19 AM

tapierscheisse said:

I would suggest something like that:

… Lastly the unit may Move out of Formation miniatures, as detailed on p 32 to regain Unit coherency.

that would be more to the Intention of the rule.

I have a suspicion that this was the intent, as it makes the most sense. This would allow you to designate a leader and move the unit into proper range of the new leader. 



#7 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:58 AM

 I think they knew it'd be exploited. It's really not all-powerful, and I'd still prefer Blitzkrieg. This order only effects units within 12" of the Command Squad's leader, and doesn't allow you to move the single most important miniature required for LoS purposes, the unit leader. It sounds great in paper and my group figured it out the day the rulebook dropped. In actual play, it's been situational at best. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS