Jump to content



Photo

Beastman Incursion


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 secondl

secondl

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:27 PM

When your opponect skips his/her battlefield phase to destroy beastman incursion, does it also destroy the unit questing on it?



#2 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 30 July 2012 - 01:48 AM

Nope. If you had to sacrifice the unit as part of the cost, it would say so on the card. And when a quest is destroyed or moved to another zone, the unit questing on it just stays where it is.



#3 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 08:08 PM

Hello to all,
I have a question concerning the card in object whose text states:

 

"Play in any opponent's zone, under his control.
Forced: At the beginning of your turn, you must sacrifice a non-development, non-quest card in this zone, if able.
Action: At the beginning of your battlefield phase, skip the rest of your battlefield phase to destroy this card if a unit is questing here. "

My opponent plays two of these cards in one or two of my zones. I play one unit on each of these cards and at the beginning of the Battlefield Phase I play their Actions, the second in response to the first, what happens?

I resolve the last action in the chain, I destroy the Quest and the Battlefield Phase ends! I can not solve the other Action in the chain, as the first action, for the purposes of its resolution, requires me to skip the rest of my Battlefield Phase, for which now I am at the end of the turn; this is correct?
Or I miss somethings?



#4 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 08:16 PM

When a card says "do x to do y", x is a cost. So skipping the rest of your battlefield phase is a cost, and you pay it when you trigger the action. You can skip a phase multiple times (it's different from not having the phase), so you can destroy multiple Beastman Incursions in the same turn. 



#5 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 10:02 PM

Oh yes! I miss the fact that the "skip" is a cost, so, in this case, I can pay it multiple times.

 

Thank for the prompt reply



#6 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 707 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 10:54 PM

Mallumo said:

You can skip a phase multiple times (it's different from not having the phase), so you can destroy multiple Beastman Incursions in the same turn. 

I don't understand how you can skip something that already has been skipped…(you can't sacrifice the same unit twice etc.)



#7 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 01:24 AM

I agree with Virgo, in my previous post I forgot a "?" at the end of my sentence.


It is true that it is a cost, exactly for this, when I pay it the first time I have no way to pay for a second time.
The effect of pay it for the first time, is that immediately terminates the phase of the Battlefield, so I can not even play the second action because it would be illegal inasmuch the phase of the Battlefield is ended.

 

I hope I explained myself better this time



#8 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 04:03 AM

I asked Lukas about this a while ago, this was his response:

 

You can get rid of any number of Beastman Incursions within one turn. By triggering the Action, you skip your battlefield phase as a cost; you can skip it as many times as you want, since the phase still exists even when skipped. 



#9 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 04:10 AM

Think about it this way:

If you told me you would give me $20 to skip lunch, I could agree to that and get $20.  If someone else also offered me $10 to skip lunch, I would clearly get $30 for not eating lunch that day.  If you offered me $20 to give you my lunch (i.e. sacrifice it), I could not then get $10 as well.



#10 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 516 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 04:17 AM

And should you ever play against me, I will totally skip my battlefield phase for $20. 



#11 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 07:29 PM

Eh, eh, eh … thanks for the fun explanation.


In essence, I can skip as many times as I want because the phase of the battlefield continues to exist.
 



#12 rasdsaris

rasdsaris

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 12:16 AM

Entropy42 said:

 

Think about it this way:

If you told me you would give me $20 to skip lunch, I could agree to that and get $20.  If someone else also offered me $10 to skip lunch, I would clearly get $30 for not eating lunch that day.  If you offered me $20 to give you my lunch (i.e. sacrifice it), I could not then get $10 as well.

 

That's wrong thinking about this card in my opinion. Clearly, you skip your BF phase to get rid of it. It's not like "skip my lunch", but something like "skip my training to get rest", or "skip my whole day, to teach kung-fu". And so, can you skip your day to teach kung-fu, and skip the same time to teach how to dance? Nope. The common sense of this card (named Invasion in its type), tells me, that it shouldn't be that way.

 

Also, from technical point. When u skip something, fe phase, or whole turn - it immediately ends. It ENDS, so, no other Action or effect should be resolved since, the turn/phase is shut down. (Something similar to Jealous Eyes effect). In that way, even if u put on stack two Incrusion effects, once the first is resolved, u must skip the REST of this phase, so no other Action would take place (including second "skipping").

 

Think of it.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS