Jump to content



Photo

Blinded on the vehicle Damage Table - Question


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 the_zombie

the_zombie

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:08 PM

Hello all!

Been really loving the whole Dust Warfare experience.  Of course, I just started this weekend - so I have questions that will pop up from time to time.

Page 44 - Blinded: Book says "WHEN taking a sustained attack action, the vehicle cannot reroll combat dice for the rest of the game."

Okay, fine.  But what if I have not done anything with my Firball heavy walker in the Command Phase.  Now in the Unit Phase, I want to (or 'need to' in order to 'live') to shoot a the enemy/enemies right in front of me within range of all my weapons.  I know NORMALLY, you cannot not take 2 attack actions.  But in this case, while your vehicle is BLINDED, can you opt NOT to do a sustained attack (because the BLINED rules says "when taking a sustained attack") and actually take two (2) separate shots (without any reroll)?  Or are you scr*wed and only get the one shot in the unit phase (kind of harsh for the lowest damage level on the chart - but it is only a (fun) game, so I will abide by whatever the game creators intended.)

Thanks is advance for any info!



#2 the_zombie

the_zombie

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:13 PM

Addendum:

 

Because knowing (going into the Unit Phase) I don’t get the re-roll, why on earth would I even do a sustained attack??? If I don’t need to move my model at all to hit every threatening unit within my 90 degrees, why would I want to ‘waste’ an action on moving? I want to shoot. As much as possible. So the question is, does Blinded actually removed that second action if you have no need to move?

Thanks!!!!!
 



#3 Zinger5656

Zinger5656

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:26 PM

You cannot do a sustained attack.  However, don't forget that armor can overrun units in its path and force suppression.  If it happens to be on fire when doing an overrun, it can also do damage.  Considering that the range for the fireball's napalm thrower is 12" measured from the center of its base, units are likely to be in range for an overrun.  A level 7 tank has a good chance of suppressing, or even forcing a retreat.   I say flame them, then a move action to overrun and suppress.



#4 the_zombie

the_zombie

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:46 PM

Thanks for the super fast reply!

 

At the risk of sounding like a whiny six year old kid – I hear what you are saying. But your very first sentence does not answer my question. I know I cannot do a sustained attack (benefit of re-rolls). So I simply do not want to do a ‘sustained attack’. If I don’t need/want to move in my unit phase, is Blinded telling me/forcing me to only get one action in place of two (1 attack and second action wasted because it is not tactically beneficial for me to move).

Sorry to be a pest/child. Just wondering what the rule book allows for. I will happily follow what is intended by the game creators. But this has come up twice now (in one weekend – both in a game changing situation), so I am looking for some clarity.

“Peace, um, er…War and Love”
 



#5 Zinger5656

Zinger5656

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:56 PM

If you think about it, nobody would do a sustained attack action if you could simply attack twice.  The percentage to hit would be greater being that you would be rolling double the dice, not just misses.  Blinded is a way to show your tank has taken damage and is hindered.  If you do not want to move, you are simply limited to the one attack action.



#6 Zinger5656

Zinger5656

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:57 PM

 Or do your best to give it an order in the command phase if you want to risk the reaction token.

I do understand your confusion also.  It should simply say that you cannot take a sustained attack action on the chart for blinded.



#7 the_zombie

the_zombie

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 02:00 PM

Awesome.  Thanks bro.  That is what I was looking for.  Again, I'm not fighting for one way or the other.  I just wanted to know how the darn rule suppose to work!

Vehicle takes damage, and therefore only shoots once to reflect this damage.  Got it.  Sounds fair.  My friends and I can now play accordingly.

Thanks for your help!

Have a great rest of the weekend!



#8 the_zombie

the_zombie

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 02:15 PM

Actually, the rule should probably be printed as (for dummies like me):

 

Models suffering from Blinded can only ever make a single attack action per phase regardless of the number of actions they have available to use. Hence, they can only ever shoot once per Unit phase, and never benefit from the Sustained Attack option.

But that’s just me…
 



#9 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 03:33 PM

 It's worded the way it is for future-proofing, as there will be heroes with the pilot ability who will gain other benefits from a Sustained Attacks action coming out very soon. Rules as Written, you may still make a Sustained Attack, you just can't reroll misses.

So, when Nikolai comes along (SSU Heroes Unit Box - Coming soon) he'll be able to use the, "Take Aim" special ability which will allow him to do a Sustained Attack in his Walker and invert the dice where misses are hits and hits are misses, even when his Walker is blinded. The rule was worded the way it is on purpose. There are a few other rules in the game which take into account where it is headed overall. Andy & Mack developed a framework which takes into account the next two years of releases according to interview responses. 



#10 Zinger5656

Zinger5656

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

 Vert cool!  Thanks for the insight Shadow.



#11 Drag0n

Drag0n

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 08:13 PM

There are Artillery weapons in game and they needed  Sustained Attacks for Indirect Fire. So if Blinded, A-weapons still can fire indirectly anyway

 



#12 Zinger5656

Zinger5656

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 30 July 2012 - 07:20 PM

 A mechanic in a command squad can also repair.  It will remove one status from the damage chart.  The blind can see again!



#13 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:17 AM

Zinger5656 said:

 A mechanic in a command squad can also repair.  It will remove one status from the damage chart.  The blind can see again!

Just for clarification, You can do one or the other (medic or mechanic), not both, in the same action. 



#14 jkrax

jkrax

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:59 AM

 I´m sorry, but can´t you give an order to the vehicle in the Command Phase to shoot, and then make it shoot again in the Unit Phase? That way you can shoot twice, or am I missing something here?



#15 th3_greench

th3_greench

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:10 PM

This might sound condescending, but it's not, I promise! >< Isn't your question answered under "Unit Phase; Actions," on page 33 of the Core Rule book? Under "Actions" it reads: "A unit may complete its actions in any order it wishes; It can Move and then Attack, or Attack and then Move, take no actions or only one action, or take a double action." So you can never choose to take two Move actions, or two Attack actions in the Unite phase.

 

Drag0n said:

There are Artillery weapons in game and they needed  Sustained Attacks for Indirect Fire. So if Blinded, A-weapons still can fire indirectly anyway

 

 

That's soooo true, I never thought of that, good choice of wording on their part then!



#16 th3_greench

th3_greench

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:11 PM

 Yes to my knowledge, there's nothing stopping you from taking an Attack Order in the Command Phase, and then an Attack action in the Unit phase.



#17 ItsUncertainWho

ItsUncertainWho

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:45 PM

th3_greench said:

 

 Yes to my knowledge, there's nothing stopping you from taking an Attack Order in the Command Phase, and then an Attack action in the Unit phase.

 

 

You can give an order in the Command Phase to attack, then attack in the Unit Phase. 

The problem with the Command Phase attack is that it nets you a reaction marker that makes you vulnerable to Suppression and removes the option of a Sustained Attack or March Move in the Unit Phase.  

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS