Supernatural immunity vs Exceptional magic resistance

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 stickman_kenobi

stickman_kenobi

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:21 PM

Hey everyone, I'm new to Anima, and I'm trying to build a character for an upcoming campaign.

The character I am making is a weapon master, but in his backstory he is heavily resistant to magic for some reason, so I am going to be giving him either the supernatural immunity advantage (GM's handbook), or the Exeptional magic resistance advantage (Core rulebook).

I would like to know the difference between the two, but I don't quite understand them, and I would like to know what either of them are better for.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Beadle

Beadle

• Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:18 PM

Quite honestly, for a Weaponsmaster, you'd probably be better off with Supernatural Immunity (and from the sound of it, invest heavily in it - possibly the full DP).  As a Weaponsmaster, the fact that you can't get The Gift or See Supernatural is insignificant, because you almost certainly wouldn't have taken them anyway.

Exceptional Magic Resistance, even if you put the full 2CP into it, only gives you a +50 to your MR.  With that, you'd need to be around Level 7 or even higher before your MR allowed you to completely ignore MR checks below 120.  Of course, after that level, it would keep increasing (whereas the Immunity wouldn't), and it will help against MR checks above 120 (which the Immunity wouldn't), so it's a consideration.

And that doesn't even factor in completely ignoring Lightning Bolts, Fireballs etc that haven't had a crapload of Zeon dumped into them.  Which is what a 3CP Supernatural Immunity gives you.

At lower levels, you're basically ignoring mages totally, unless they collapse a building on you.