Jump to content



Photo

Two Questions (or opinions sought)


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Skywalker

Skywalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 07:29 PM

1. Does Widwo Tarha start a quest with the Reanimate in play? I would say not, but I assume that most familiars do start in play.

2. When you start the second encounter, do you revert back to the heroes' turn first? The text suggests not by saying you go to the second encounter immediately, but the quests seem to suggest that this is the case.



#2 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 09:45 PM

Per the  "Raise Dead" skill card the reanimate requires an action as well as one fatigue to be conjured. This is not limited to Tarha, either of the two Mage archetypes can choose the Necromancer class. Imo FFG need to release an FAQ post haste on the reanimate as there are many gray areas regarding how they are to be played.

Regarding who plays first I can find no rules regarding this. I would say its open to interpretation - House Rules.



#3 Skywalker

Skywalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:23 PM

 I agree that is what the card says. However, I assume that most other familiars (that aren't summoned) start in play and are silent on the point on their card. As such, it seems odd to to give the Reanimate the benefit of the same reading.



#4 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 03:04 AM

In digging around the rule book I re-read The Golden Rules (Page 18) which state the following pecking order: Rule book < Quest Rules < Cards and Abilities. With this order of precedence it would seem that your reanimate question for Necromancer defers to the "Raise Dead" card while any other familiar will not. As well, your second question would seem to defer to the quest rules which you mentioned favor starting the second encounter with the Hero turn.



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 03:14 AM

Skywalker said:

 

 I agree that is what the card says. However, I assume that most other familiars (that aren't summoned) start in play and are silent on the point on their card. As such, it seems odd to to give the Reanimate the benefit of the same reading.

 

 

Since the reanimate is the only familiar in the base game, I think it's dangerous to assume anything about what "most other familiars" will or won't have written on their initial skill card.  For all we know, familiars who are intended to begin the game in play will have a line that says something like "This familiar begins each quest in the same space as their controlling hero" on their skill card.

Barring any official errata from FFG, however, I would agree with other posters that the Necromancer needs to summon their reanimate familiar by using an action to get it into play.  Given all the other threads I've been reading about how powerful the reanimate is, I hardly think this is an unfair price to pay.

I suppose the CK is going to be out soon and it has 3 more familiars in it (from what I hear) so that will probably clear things up.



#6 Skywalker

Skywalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:43 AM

Steve-O said:

I suppose the CK is going to be out soon and it has 3 more familiars in it (from what I hear) so that will probably clear things up.

I agree, though my guess is that the CK familiars will be silent on the matter. However, I also agree with you on how best to interpret things if the CK familiars are silent on the matter.



#7 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 670 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:46 AM

Coversion Kit Familiar Information:

Skye:   Speed: 5   Hearts: None   Shield: None   Belongs to: Vyrah the Falconer

When moving, Skye ignores all figures and terrain. You may force a single monster adjacent to Skye to reroll 1 defense die or 1 attack die. If you do, remove Skye from the map.

Pico:   Speed: None   Hearts: None   Shield: None   Belongs to: Ronan of the Wild

Pico is never placed on the map. Heroes may carry Pico by placing his token on their Hero sheet. A monster may only target a hero carrying Pico for an attack if there are no other heroes closer to that monster and in its line of sight.

Brightblaze:   Speed: 4   Hearts: None   Shield: None   Belongs to: Challara

Each attack targeting a monster adjacent to Brightblaze gains Pierce 1.
 



#8 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 670 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:51 AM

Should have continued this train of thought …

On Vyrah the Falconer's Hero Sheet the Hero Ability states: You have the Skye familiar. At the start of your turn, if Skye is not on the map, place him in your space.

On Ronan the Wild's Hero Sheet the Hero Ability states: You have the Pico familiar. At the beginning of each encounter, please the Pico familiar token on your Hero sheet. Any hero may give Pico to an adjacent hero following normal rules for trading items.

On Challara's Hero Sheet the Hero Ability states: You have the Brightblaze familiar. At the beginning of each encounter, place Brightblaze in your space.



#9 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 08:08 AM

 I understand now with these D1e familiars the OP's desire for clarification. I never played D1e and had not seen any other familiars referenced in D2e. Basically, the D1e familiars add an additional passive ability for their associated hero. Looking forward to the conversion kit!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS