Jump to content



Photo

Dual Wielding Crossbows and Off-Hand Bonuses Question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 crjojola

crjojola

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:40 AM

Hello I just had a question.  Is it possible to dual wield crossbows?  And if so do they roll attack dice twice for each weapon? 

 

My 2nd question is if a player has a crossbow equipped and a dagger.   Do they get they off-hand bonus of the dagger when they attack with their crossbow?

 

Looking forward to your answers!  Thanks!



#2 Llenyd

Llenyd

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:47 AM

You no longer receive any bonus from an offhand weapon. (pg 12 in rulebook)

Dual wielding is now just an opportunity to use an alternate weapon in the middle of your turn without having to go through the equip phase.  Theoretically, you could have a sword in your main hand and a crossbow in your offhand, kill the adjacent monster with your sword, then shoot a ranged monster without using fatigue to move adjacent to it.  Or you could have a piercing weapon in your main hand and a stunning weapon in your offhand, etc.  Though, usually, a 2-hand weapon will deal more damage.



#3 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:47 AM

This was already replied in a recent post. But, I'll answer it here to. You can wield 1 weapon in each hand or 1 two handed weapon (I believe the crossbow has two gauntlets in the lower left corner, which means it's a two handed weapon). Having a weapon in each hand does not bestow any benefit other than being able to attack with each weapon during your turn. Both of these must be equipped during the equip items phase (which is just before the 2 actions you are allowed). So, you couldn't attack with a two handed weapon with 1 action and then a one handed weapon with your 2nd action, since you don't have 3 hands. :)



#4 Antistone

Antistone

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:51 AM

Are you playing first edition Descent, or second edition?  This is the second edition forum (the first edition forum has been archived), but as far as I know second edition doesn't have anything called an "off-hand bonus".

In first edition, off-hand bonuses only work if you are wielding two melee weapons.

And in both editions, you never get to roll both weapons for a single attack; you just get to choose which of your equipped weapons to use for any given attack.  More options, but not more raw power.  Generally not worth it.



#5 crjojola

crjojola

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 07:16 AM

Yeah this was a question for 1st ed.  I am looking into getting 2nd ed soon!



#6 Sythion

Sythion

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 12:05 PM

 I'm considering house ruling that if two weapons of the same type (me lee or ranged) are wielded the surge abilities of both can be used, regardless of which weapon is used. Probably puts dual wielding in line with two handed weapons and shielded knights.

 



#7 fitsou

fitsou

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:16 AM

 The homurule i am using is this:

If you have two weapons you gain the extra dice from the off-hand (not the blue, only the red or yellow) and you gain none of the off-hand abilitites!

i think that this is more balance in compare to a player that has weapon & shield! both gain one dice one to use in attack the other to use it in defence!



#8 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 10:24 AM

 Fitsou, that house rule is AMAZING for the heroes.  It is NEVER better to have a 2-handed weapon in that case.

I really dislike house rules. :(



#9 fitsou

fitsou

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 July 2012 - 12:44 AM

 then dont play with them.. whatever makes us happy






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS