Jump to content



Photo

The DoorWay and Khopesh


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 07:56 AM

HI,

     I have a character commited to a story, and my opponent a character with khopesh.

 

   My opponent triggers his khopesh, and Khopesh's actios is initiated. I trigger a disrupt, The Doorway, and my characted retuns to my hand. And ¿now what?  Khopesh say:

Action: Choose a character. That character and attached character each take 1 wound

   -My opponent choose a character, but this character in in my hand, therefore "choose a character" failed.

   -Khopesh's action hasn't and "then" or "if able". I think my opponent must seek to fulfill as much of effect as possible. Therefore his character will be wound by khopesh

 

  It is correct?

 

Regards,



#2 AUCodeMonkey

AUCodeMonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 08:57 AM

There was a discussion on this a while back. I think Penfold and The Professor, being better at rules than myself, came to the consensus that if the character chosen by Khopesh cannot be wounded, then the character with Khopesh attached also cannot be wounded.



#3 Penfold

Penfold

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,180 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 09:38 AM

 AU, you are remembering an entirely different discussion. The Doorway question is whether or not if I remove the character targetd by Khopesh, whether or not Khopesh's effect resolves… and the answer is yes, sort of.

  1. My opponent triggers the Khopesh targeting my character.
  2. I could trigger The Doorway here, but if I do there is no longer a legal target for the Khopesh's effect so it would fizzle here.
  3. The Khopesh effect resolves here.
    3.1 The wounding of the characters now actually creates another opportunity for me to trigger a disrupt, this is where all wound canceling disrupts would be triggered… but because The Doorway is not restricted to what it can disrupt, it just triggers during disrupt timing, I can trigger The Doorway here, returning my character to my hand. Because it is not canceling the effect, or forcing the Khopesh to have an illegal target before execution, the wound it deals to its attached character still must be applied.

The Doorway prevents the Khopesh of the Abyss from being used during commitment. You must use it before your opponent commits, which of course causes other possible issues with cards jumping into play as a response to a card leaving play which means they can be committed to the story in place of whatever was lost.



#4 .Zephyr.

.Zephyr.

    Member

  • Members
  • 309 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 09:40 AM

 You cant trigger it if one on the characters cannot be wounded. But here its different - you triggered it and character stopped being a valit target after you triggered it because of disrupt.

Examining detailed action resolution step:

b) Check play restrictions, including verification and designation of applicable targets or cards to be effected.

happens before disrupts get played, so the effect is still triggered, and only Khopesh wielder gets hurt.

[or im wrong again, hate this rules]



#5 Yipe

Yipe

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 12:40 PM

I asked Damon this exact question a while back and here's his answer:

Q:  Can I trigger the Doorway to return a character to my hand that was chosen to receive a wound from Khopesh of the Abyss? If I do this, does the character attached to Khopesh still take a wound or is the effect canceled entirely?

A:  From the FAQ:

1. Action is initiated.
2. Disrupts
3. Action is executed.

Just like in the combat struggle resolution, the Khopesh of the Abyss effect is divided into two separate pieces, the initiation and the execution. In between these is a disrupt window where either character that is designated by the effect to be wounded could have that wound canceled or some other form of disrupt that keeps the wound from being placed on the character. This is again where The Doorway and any form of wound cancel would be triggered and resolved before the Khopesh's ability is executed. Because the effect removes the target from play (or in the case of a wound being canceled) but does not cancel the effect itself (just prevents the wound from being placed) the effect finishes resolving, in this case on the attached character.

 



#6 marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 26 July 2012 - 10:10 PM

Thanks,

    Another ask. I have two characters without willpower commited in a story. I choose a character to go insane. I can trigger The DoorWay, the character taht will go insane return to my hand… and the other character still commited in story?



#7 Yipe

Yipe

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 26 July 2012 - 10:49 PM

Yes, The Doorway will work the same way for a terror struggle as it does against a combat struggle.

As the designated target of the terror struggle is no longer valid, it has no effect (i.e. you don't reassign the effects of a lost terror struggle to another target).



#8 AUCodeMonkey

AUCodeMonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:45 AM

 For once, I am glad to be remembering something incorrectly! Thanks for the clarification, Penfold and Yipe.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS