Jump to content



Photo

A couple of questions/clarifications: Reinforcement and Move/attack


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dadiXtrema

dadiXtrema

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 24 July 2012 - 05:25 PM

 Hi Everyone! 

Absolutely loving this game right now :) My group had a couple of questions about spawning monsters as reinforcements, moving and attacking, and the dragon's fire breath:

1) First, we wanted to know if it were legal to spawn master monsters at the entrance/exit/wherever the quest guide says to place the monsters at. One person in our group "remembers" that they read the rule that the OL can only spawn minion monsters and not master monsters because "it is too strong to spawn masters every time they are defeated". Just curious!

2) Can a monster/hero move into a friendly square and perform an attack while in that square (like in 1e?) or is there a rule/ruling that prevents a player from doing this? For example: If an ettin is blocking a corridor, can archers move into a forward square occupied by the ettin, shoot a target while in the same square as the ettin, then retreat behind the ettin for protection?

3) When the dragon's fire breath procs, does the breath move in a straight line or can the OL choose the squares that are affected assuming that the squares chosen are sequentially adjacent to each other?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)



#2 Antistone

Antistone

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:40 PM

1) I'm not aware of any such restriction. Moreover, that seems pretty weird, since some monster groups can potentially contain only a master monster, in which case they would be unable to reinforce at all. As far as I know, reinforcing master monsters is fair game.

2) Actually, this was very specifically NOT allowed in first edition (movement rules, page 9). However, I can't find any rule that would obviously prevent it in second edition.  There is a rule that you can't end your movement in the same space as another figure (p.8), which could possibly be construed as meaning that you can't interrupt your movement to perform another action then, either, but I think that's a stretch.

3) My position is that if they had intended that to be in a straight line, they would have used the word "straight" or "line" somewhere in the description; "trace a path" looks like a deliberate attempt to be more flexible than that. However, some posters seem to disagree with me.



#3 matpe

matpe

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 July 2012 - 09:28 PM

1) Ask him where he read that rule. I cannot see any exception for master monsters.

2) The ettin cannot do the same thing since large monsters must expand and fit in the spaces when they interrupt their move (page 16). But in the move rules on page 8 it says "A figure cannot end its movement in same space as another figure", with no mention of interrupt. So I assume normal figures may interrupt in another figures space, but a large monster may not.

3) The dragon's proc does not say "any 4 adjacent squares" or "any 4 squares". It says that you must trace the path in a direction. Choose a start space and an end space, with a 3 distance between them . Then pick start space, end space and 2 spaces between them as affected by the attack.  I also assume it stops when it hits a wall, which means you can pick an end space outside the boards.
 



#4 dadiXtrema

dadiXtrema

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 08:35 PM

 Thanks for your replies guys :) Much appreciated!



#5 dadiXtrema

dadiXtrema

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 08:35 PM

Double Post - Sorry!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS