Jump to content



Photo

"You" vs "Each Player" on Story Effects


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Runix

Runix

    Member

  • Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:23 PM

In resolving a story effect after a player has won the story, does it apply only to the resolving player unless it specifies "each player"?

For instance, Chaos Unleashed:

"Choose 1 domain you control. Take all resources attached to it and place them in your hand. Replace those resources with an equal number of cards from the top of your deck."

Compare and contrast with The Opened Door:

"Each player may take any number of cards from his hand and exchange them with an equal number of resources attached to a single domain he controls."

By my reading, Chaos Unleashed affects only the player who won the story; The Opened Door affects all players.

That would seem fairly straightforward, but for the FAQ, which succeeds in muddying the the waters with:

"Conspiracy cards are not considered to have a controller, and any instance of the word 'you' or 'your' refers to all players."

The problem is, if you consider "you" to refer to all players, a whole lot of Story effects make absolutely zero sense, like those that allow "you" to rearrange Success tokens; that can't possibly mean that both players get a chance to rearrange tokens if the effect is resolved.  Despite what the FAQ says, when it comes to Story effects, "you" has to be the player who won the Story.

I can see two ways to resolve this. One is to consider this as only applying to Conspiracy cards; the second is to consider it as only apply to the passive effects of Story and Conspiracy cards, as opposed to the effect that is resolved upon winning it, which is resolved by the winning player and which therefore refers to the winning player as "you".

Am I reading this right?



#2 Penfold

Penfold

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,180 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:44 PM

 You are right on both counts as far as can be told. The rules specifically address conspiracy cards, if they applied to story cards also they would have just said story cards since conspiracy cards are treated like story cards when in play… except where the FAQ says otherwise. I would say the passive effect is definitely different than the triggered effect on Conspiracy cards. I don't believe I've seen a story card with a truly passive effect that doesn't involve winning the game (an dI don't think those can be properly termed passives since the rules specifically state the player decides to enact them.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS