Per this thread on BGG, there is some confusion about the line of sight rules in Descent 2E. I'd like to know the official ruling. The problem:
In the Line of Sight Example #2 on page 12 of the rulebook, Jain and the zombie are said not to have LOS, because neither of the 2 lines drawn in the example are sufficient to establish LOS. However, the rules say that LOS can be established by drawing a line from "any corner to . . . any corner" of the tiles (emphasis in original). So there are 16 possible lines to draw between their tiles, and at least one of those lines would establish LOS: from Jain's lower-left corner to the zombie's lower-right corner, for example, would pass right through the corner between the boulders.
There is a lot of speculation on the BGG forum, e.g. that maybe you can't trace these lines through the figures' own tiles--that you can't actually choose any corner, but must choose a relatively "forward" corner. But that isn't consistent with the idea that, if I am attacking a large monster, I can target any of the tiles it occupies as my target (since some of those squares may not be the nearest tile to me). The worse problem is the seeming arbitrariness of the distinction between cases with LOS and those without: if I can trace a LOS when 4 tiles apart, but not when 5 apart, but can again when 6 apart… it sounds like time for some house rules, or better yet, an official ruling.
Anyway, I think the question is clear: by a strict reading of the rules, Jain and the zombie do have LOS; but per the example they do not. Is the example wrong, or are the rules missing something?