Jump to content



Photo

Q about Hero ability, :


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 PDT

PDT

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:46 PM

Leoric of the book.. his hero ability stats that each monster gets one les heart on their attack roll if within 3 space of him.. does this also count when the monster attacks another hero..?

Can monster run..? (spend bother actions on moving) i know that they only have one attack.. but running..?????

 



#2 Sausageman

Sausageman

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:28 AM

PDT said:

Leoric of the book.. his hero ability stats that each monster gets one les heart on their attack roll if within 3 space of him.. does this also count when the monster attacks another hero..?

Think of his ability as a protective aura.  So yes, if they are within 3 spaces of him, they do less damage, whether they're attacking him or another hero.



#3 MasterBeastman

MasterBeastman

    Member

  • Members
  • 79 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:37 AM

Yes, monsters can use both actions to move.



#4 Lupin89

Lupin89

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:15 AM

MasterBeastman said:

Yes, monsters can use both actions to move.

If quest does not prevent it (Demo quest would been to easy for OL to win if goblins get 2x5 move per turn)



#5 PDT

PDT

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:16 AM

thanks very much.. had hoped that the "aura" just where for the wizard ;-)



#6 jjcole

jjcole

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 04:55 AM

Lupin89 said:

MasterBeastman said:

 

Yes, monsters can use both actions to move.

 

 

If quest does not prevent it (Demo quest would been to easy for OL to win if goblins get 2x5 move per turn)

Does it actually say the goblins can't run in First Blood? I must have missed that.



#7 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:46 AM

jjcole said:

Lupin89 said:

 

MasterBeastman said:

 

Yes, monsters can use both actions to move.

 

 

If quest does not prevent it (Demo quest would been to easy for OL to win if goblins get 2x5 move per turn)

 

 

Does it actually say the goblins can't run in First Blood? I must have missed that.

No, it doesn't.  They can, and when I run it, they do.  And the heroes still win, because the water gets in the way.



#8 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:41 AM

 You don't have the goblins take that lower-right corner of the tile that bypasses the water?  I think it's actually about the same number of movement points, now that I think about it.



#9 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:03 AM

radiskull said:

 You don't have the goblins take that lower-right corner of the tile that bypasses the water?  I think it's actually about the same number of movement points, now that I think about it.

Exactly, it doesn't really save them any movement, and Heroes I've played with have always camped a ranged character there to pick off those Gobs that make it by (often Jain, who can get there before any Gobs do).  In general, they've done a really good job of limiting the Ettin movement by standing so that they don't have many places to go.  And while the Master can throw, it does take a Hero failing a test, and does only move one of them.



#10 Lupin89

Lupin89

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:21 AM

KristoffStark said:

jjcole said:

 

Lupin89 said:

 

MasterBeastman said:

 

Yes, monsters can use both actions to move.

 

 

If quest does not prevent it (Demo quest would been to easy for OL to win if goblins get 2x5 move per turn)

 

 

Does it actually say the goblins can't run in First Blood? I must have missed that.

 

 

No, it doesn't.  They can, and when I run it, they do.  And the heroes still win, because the water gets in the way.

 

then my demo preview OL didn't know rules even if he was so called specialist (didn't use double move and stun was whole turn long) he said that some faq already was made where stun has been said to take whole turn from you instead of one action



#11 Radish

Radish

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:44 AM

Semi related question: Heroes can interrupt their movement to perform their second action and then resume their movement.  It seems like he monster turn section specifically omits this rule.  I just want to double check that monsters can't move->perfrom action (like pick up a token)->finish movement.



#12 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:47 AM

Lupin89 said:

then my demo preview OL didn't know rules even if he was so called specialist (didn't use double move and stun was whole turn long) he said that some faq already was made where stun has been said to take whole turn from you instead of one action

"Some discussion on BGG and these forums that lots of people don't agree with" doesn't make a FAQ.  Your OL lied to you.



#13 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:49 AM

Radish said:

Semi related question: Heroes can interrupt their movement to perform their second action and then resume their movement.  It seems like he monster turn section specifically omits this rule.  I just want to double check that monsters can't move->perfrom action (like pick up a token)->finish movement.

There's a line in the Monster Movement section where it says that in all other ways, they move like Heroes, which includes the ability to interrupt a move with another action.



#14 Antistone

Antistone

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:10 AM

On page 16, the large monster rules say "When the monster ends (or interrupts) its movement…"

That seems to imply that monsters can interrupt their movement.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS