Jump to content



Photo

Ki-Technique, Limited Additional Attack, No Damage Disadvantage


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 F3nr1s

F3nr1s

    Member

  • Members
  • 159 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:03 AM

 Hi,

at the moment, I'm creating some techniques and now have following question:

I try to make a technique, with "Limited Additional Attack +1", which has the Branding, but doesn't do any damage. The idea was, that with the "limited additional attack", he could use his usual attack normal.

Now have I read the "no damage" disadvantage again and I'm unsure: If I take this disadvantage with a technqiue with "limited additional attack +1 + brand", would my normal attack (on which I use the technique) also have no damage?

(The technique is bigger, but I think the limited additional attack + brand give enough information that most people understand what I'm trying to create).

 

So long,



#2 Rii Nagaja

Rii Nagaja

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:50 AM

Good question.

I would answer with yes, since no damage is a disadvantage and disadvantages allways apply to any effect, as far as I understood it. The limited additional attacks only miss out on any other advantage effect that you had chosen.

I see that this is a gap though. This trick to take a additional limited attack to immitate kind of a special attack beneath your normal action, is old, but it seems that it suddenly doesn't work anymore with certain disadvantages.

I would let it slide, but I fear that is not what would happen officially.



#3 Beadle

Beadle

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:01 PM

 Yeah, I'd say that Branding with Does No Damage is a no-go option, I'm afraid.



#4 F3nr1s

F3nr1s

    Member

  • Members
  • 159 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:56 PM

 Thanks, exactly what I suspected, in this case, my normal attack would be useless. I think, I can dismiss the "Limited Additional Attack" and use my normal attack for it, there where no difference.

@Beadle: I think, that usually Branding with "No Damage" would be usable, because I would "brand" someone, if I obtain a Damage result on the table and "No Damage" states, that esoteric effects are working normaly if the technique had made some damage. So, I don't see a contradiction.

So long,



#5 Beadle

Beadle

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:00 PM

 Yup, you're right.  My bad.  :)



#6 Beadle

Beadle

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:01 PM

Sorry - double post.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS