Jump to content



Photo

Stun wording seems a little awkward


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SnowcatAssassin

SnowcatAssassin

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 04:37 PM

 Playing it for the first time today with my group and it seemed to go over real well, but we did encounter a bit of a kerfluffle in regards to the wording for the Stunned condition. The way it's worded kind of makes it unclear as to whether you don't get any actions, or if one of your actions has to be devoted to discarding the token/card. I interpreted it as the latter, since monsters and heroes alike get 2 actions a turn, and that's basically what Stun was like in first edition, but I could see how it could be construed as the other way because of the wording.

One of the players did some research and apparently this came up at the big games weekend a couple weekends ago, and my interpretation correct, but has anyone else found the wording confusing?


I think we got this...


#2 SolennelBern

SolennelBern

    Member

  • Members
  • 944 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:48 AM

Recheck the Stun condition card text, it says: "spend 1 action to get rid of this card; this is the only action you can perform during your turn while you have this card."

Emphasis is mine.

The way I see it, is if you have a Stun card on a character, the only action a character can do is remove the card.  He's still left with 1 action to do.

Oppositely to Knocked Out Heroes where they can only stand up during their turn and the rules are clear on that.

So Stun only "forces" you to spend 1 action (out of the 2 you have) to remove the Stun Card.



#3 Sausageman

Sausageman

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:12 AM

SnowcatAssassin said:

One of the players did some research and apparently this came up at the big games weekend a couple weekends ago, and my interpretation correct, but has anyone else found the wording confusing?

I think it's fair to say it's THE No.1 question that seems to be coming up.

The official answer is as above - you can only take 1 action while you have the card, and that action can be to only remove the card.  Once you've done that, you no longer have the card to abide by the 'only take 1 action' part, so are free to take a second action.  Essentially, it comes down to what point in the heroes turn are the number of actions you get determined - at the beginning (in which case, stun WOULD mean you only have one action in a turn, period) or continually (meaning once you get rid of it, you're free to take your second action)…  My belief is the latter.  Make sense?



#4 SolennelBern

SolennelBern

    Member

  • Members
  • 944 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:38 AM

Make sence.  I don't think it was FFG's intent to make Stun effect identical to Knock Out (One and only action during your turn).

And ludically logic would say that Stun make you lose 1 action, which is fair and thematically fitting.

Knock Out on the other hand is the equivalent of a black out.  You get hit so hard that you lose all fatigue and health and you drop unconscious on the floor.  On your next turn you come back and shake off the dust on your robes, stand up a little dizzy (recover some HP/Fatigue), make some pushups and you're good to go on your next turn.



#5 hooliganj

hooliganj

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 04:40 AM

Sausageman said:

The official answer is as above - you can only take 1 action while you have the card, and that action can be to only remove the card.  Once you've done that, you no longer have the card to abide by the 'only take 1 action' part, so are free to take a second action.  Essentially, it comes down to what point in the heroes turn are the number of actions you get determined - at the beginning (in which case, stun WOULD mean you only have one action in a turn, period) or continually (meaning once you get rid of it, you're free to take your second action)…  My belief is the latter.  Make sense?

This is where a lot of the confusion is coming from - the card doesn't say you can "only take 1 action" - that's just the net effect. It simply says you have to spend your action in a certain way. I'd be willing to wager that they carefully avoided using that wording to prevent just such a misunderstanding.

The card says "Spend 1 action to get rid of this card; this is the only action you can perform during your turn while you have this card." As long as you don't read more than that into the effect, it's pretty straightforward.

  • At the start of the stunned hero's turn, they process any start of turn effects and refresh any exhausted cards as usual.
  • Then the hero gets 2 actions. The Stun card does not state that the hero loses or gains any actions on their turn, so this is unaffected.
  • For the first action, the hero has a Stun card, so only 1 choice is available - the hero must get rid of the stun.
  • Now the hero has 1 action remaining on their turn, and with no Stun card they are free to spend that action however they choose.

It doesn't really matter when the number of actions is determined during a turn, since the Stun card does not change the number of actions available to the player. Rather than modifying the number of actions the hero gets, the effect simply causes the hero to waste an action clearing the status effect. The end result is the same - the hero (or monster) loses 1 action.



#6 alaterra

alaterra

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:43 PM

Very well explained and that is how I interpreted when I first read it the preview article.

I can't believe all the confusion.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS