Jump to content



Photo

Call to arms: banner availability


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Zut the Overlady

Zut the Overlady

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 03:13 PM

Hi everyone! First time posting in this forum (Battlelore).

I have a question regarding banner availability when using the extension Call to Arms. Can you deploy independantly human and dwarf/goblin units using only the banner colour as reference? For example, on a deployment card, there is one green infantry unit and one blue dwarf infantry unit (and something else), can you use any green infantry unit (human, dwarf or goblin)?

Even when using Specialists cards, the first time tried them, the number of dwarves units was a lot inferior to the number of goblins units. Even if the frightened goblins are weaker compared to the bold dwarves, they had a clear advantage. So I was wondering if the races are interchangeable.

Thanks!

 



#2 awayputurwpn

awayputurwpn

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,621 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 05:53 AM

Zut the Overlady said:

Hi everyone! First time posting in this forum (Battlelore).

I have a question regarding banner availability when using the extension Call to Arms. Can you deploy independantly human and dwarf/goblin units using only the banner colour as reference? For example, on a deployment card, there is one green infantry unit and one blue dwarf infantry unit (and something else), can you use any green infantry unit (human, dwarf or goblin)?

Even when using Specialists cards, the first time tried them, the number of dwarves units was a lot inferior to the number of goblins units. Even if the frightened goblins are weaker compared to the bold dwarves, they had a clear advantage. So I was wondering if the races are interchangeable.

Thanks!

 

On CtA cards, the Goblin/Dwarf mercenary units are denoted by the appropriate icon seated next to the banner. If there's no icon, it's human. So in your example, it'd be one Blue Dwarf Infantry and one Green Human Infantry. 

Goblins are meant to outnumber Dwarves. The advantage for Goblins is in numbers, while the advantage for Dwarves is in their morale. So no, the races aren't interchangeable unless you're using Specialist Cards that let you switch out one race for another :)



#3 Zut the Overlady

Zut the Overlady

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 24 July 2012 - 09:41 AM

Many thanks for the reply! We will need to use official scenarios from time to time then to get more goblins and dwarves.

On a side note, with the Goblin band, the goblin armies are quite better. We played with a band on each side, and retreat flags were seldom applied. I had bad luck with the hydra the three times I chose it: all heads cut on the first or second fight! The earth elemental was a total killer at least.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS