Looking for Strategic Advice

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 icevvind

icevvind

• Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 12:01 PM

Oh men, i got no idea about wargames XD.

I play axis, but got no idea about how to use Laser Grenadiers. I thought the trick was using Sustained attack, but even that way i can't get a good use of them.

Today my unit was obliterated by a BBQ squad, that is supposed to be its homonym (as i see the pairings: gunners-battle gren, recon boys-recon gren, bbq-laser)

but the diference is 5/1 laser against soldier 2 vs 22/1 from the BBQ with demolition charges etc…

And furthermore, Nebelwerfer Barrage? Lightning war? Usually my adversaries deploys within cover, and theres just one scenario and just one battle builder option where my army can enter from offtable…

Comparing it with upgrades like Additional Support + Long tom…

Dunno, im feeling a bit dissapointed but thats just because im new to wargames.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

#2 Maverickg

Maverickg

• Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 03:43 PM

I would also like an answer to this one.  On paper, I cannot see the use for the regular laser grenadiers.  I effectively use the heavy laser grenadiers vs armor.  But on comparing units I would prefer recon grenadiers to the laser.  Am I missing something.  (the laser ability is not that great when it shoots 1/1 IMO)

#3 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

• Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:47 PM

There is no answer to your queries I'm afraid, the units and skills you mentioned are useless in DW and they nerfed the Laser Grenadiers pretty bad in the transition from DT to DW without reducing their points cost.  In DT you can re-roll re-rolls and that makes a big difference to any laser weapon.

#4 Drag0n

Drag0n

• Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:01 PM

I see only one option - add Sigrid to Laser Grd, but Berser works only once