Jump to content



Photo

Question about monster movement


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 06:28 AM

 As I wait for an official response from FFG about this topic I figured I'd ask the community about it.

I'm generally the OL for our Descent games and came into an issue. When activating monsters, are the monsters allowed to use both action points to move or are they limited to 1 movement and 1 attack?

I am already aware that monsters only get 1 attack unless frenzied but are they also limited to 1 movement unless dashed? (I've seen the debate about zombies and am aware that they can't be dashed due to their shamble skill)

What do you guys think? I'm gonna start playing the monsters similar to D1e were they could only move and attack once unless carded to do more.

 



#2 hooliganj

hooliganj

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 06:59 AM

Monsters can spend both of their actions on movement if you choose. If monsters only got 1 move action, there would be no point to the Zombie's shamble ability.



#3 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 10:27 AM

 Very true, this is what I was thinking as well. Well then, I guess in such cases as Fat Goblin #1, the heroes will have to move fast! lol



#4 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:09 AM

Coldmoonrising said:

 Very true, this is what I was thinking as well. Well then, I guess in such cases as Fat Goblin #1, the heroes will have to move fast! lol

Yep.  As OL, my favorite choice for the open group is Marriod, with their lovely Immobilize power, black defense die, and bases big enough to completely block advancement without killing one of them first.

I've OL'd Fat Goblin twice.  First time I got 2 tokens, second time I got 3.



#5 hooliganj

hooliganj

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:12 AM

I'm not looking at the quest book, but do the Marriods qualify to be an open group choice in Fat Goblin? I thought they were Underground/Water, or something like that, and Fat Goblin should be require Outdoor or Civilized.



#6 LinkN

LinkN

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:20 PM

Merroids have the Wilderness symbol (the tree), so they're a legal choice.



#7 Malicain

Malicain

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:24 AM

Wilderness for the first encounter of Fat Goblin only.



#8 KristoffStark

KristoffStark

    Member

  • Members
  • 529 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:51 AM

Malicain said:

Wilderness for the first encounter of Fat Goblin only.

Which is where I used them.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS