I've had the opportunity to play several games now (having been blessed being allowed to keep our store's demo copy), and I have come across the following:
In "The Cardinal's Plight," Encounter 2, during Special Rules it says "When a hero ends his turn adjacent to Cardinal Koth, he is rescued."
Later, in The Second Wave, it says "When a hero first open the door to the Library, read the following aloud: [story text]. The Cardinal is now rescued, and the overlord must try and stop him."
So I've got on block of text saying he's rescued as soon as the door opens, and other saying he is only rescued when a hero ends their turn adjacent to him (the setup of the room makes it somewhat unlikely that these happen in the same turn).
Not having caught this until in the midst of the Quest, I ruled with the earlier text, saying they had to be adjacent, but I'm not 100% convinced that was FFGs final intent. I'm assuming that the condition was changed at some point, and they just missed editing the other reference.