Jump to content



Photo

Frozen Outpost and Lion's Mouth


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 FuriousG

FuriousG

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 06:11 AM

 

Frozen outpost reads, "challenges: kneel to choose and stand a defending character.  Until the end of the  challenge, that character gets +2 strength".

While playing a game, I attempted to use this on a character that had "does not kneel to defend" to give them the plus 2.  Based on a similar situation that involved fury of the lion, we ruled that this was acceptable.  The "kneel to stand a defending character" isn't a trigger/cost, and the period makes it seem like its just a bonus (kind of like the to be a... line of events).

Is this ruling correct?

Also along these lines, The Lion's Mouth says : "while there is at least 1 power on the lion's mouth, it gains: Dominance: kneel the lion's mouth to move a power from a house card to a card with infamy."

Our understanding is the person controlling the lion's mouth can basically poach power off our house card once it gets a power.  Is this also accurate?

 

 

 



#2 Lars

Lars

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,662 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 07:10 AM

I think Outpost only works on a kneeling charcater (if you excise and stand it reads choose a kneeling character)

 

Lion's Mouth does take power off house cards (can be the lion's mouth owner's too)



#3 eloooooooi

eloooooooi

    Member

  • Members
  • 509 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 08:04 AM

Since there's no "then" between efects you can give the bonus to any defending character (even if he's standing already)



#4 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,658 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 12:01 PM

eloooooooi said:

Since there's no "then" between efects you can give the bonus to any defending character (even if he's standing already)

This is correct. The +2/+4 does not depend upon the success of the standing part of the effect, so you can pump a "does not kneel to defend" character. Note, however, that the character still must actually BE defending when it is chosen....






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS