I am confused how to use a blunderbuss. I understand that a blunderbuss hits an engagement (blast quality), and it cannot be parried or blocked, only dodged (which add soak 1, not a defense dices).
1) Does one need to do a ballistic skill test to fire a blunderbuss in 3rd edition? I ask because it wasn't needed in 2nd ed. I am assuming yes, since otherwise the Unreliable 2 would never be activated.
2) What if the NPCs in the engagement have any defense dices? Does it count? What if all of them have different number of defense dices? I have ruled that defense dices cannot be used against a blunderbuss.
Let me know what you think!