Jump to content



Photo

Shooting at units from outside a building… help!


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 JoelVonHelvete

JoelVonHelvete

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 01:42 PM

From the revised core rulebook:

"In order for a unit outside a structure to attack an enemy unit inside a structure, the
enemy unit must be on a space that shows an exit."

Does this imply that as long as a defending unit is in front of ANY exit that it can be shot at, even if the attacking unit is shooting from outside a different exit that the defender is standing in. To give an example, my Blackhawk is standing in a square that is directly in front of a small exit/entrance to a building. Inside the building, 2 spaces away, is Lara. She is standing inside the entrance/exit of the building, albeit a different entrance/exit that the Blackhawk is outside of. Can the Blackhawk target Lara since there is LOS?



#2 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 01:51 PM

JoelVonHelvete said:

 

From the revised core rulebook:

"In order for a unit outside a structure to attack an enemy unit inside a structure, the
enemy unit must be on a space that shows an exit."

Does this imply that as long as a defending unit is in front of ANY exit that it can be shot at, even if the attacking unit is shooting from outside a different exit that the defender is standing in. To give an example, my Blackhawk is standing in a square that is directly in front of a small exit/entrance to a building. Inside the building, 2 spaces away, is Lara. She is standing inside the entrance/exit of the building, albeit a different entrance/exit that the Blackhawk is outside of. Can the Blackhawk target Lara since there is LOS?

 

 

 

I'm going with no on this. the defending unit has to be at the entrance that the attacker is targeting.

 

I think the picture on page 17 of the revised rules  using the Sturmpioniere is pretty clear about it.



#3 JoelVonHelvete

JoelVonHelvete

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 02:05 PM

Ah, thanks for pointing that out. I saw that I missed this piece of wording in the example text.

"…the Death Dealers’ space does not have an exit in the
direction of the Sturmpioniere."
 

The wording "in the direction of" answers my question, thanks again.



#4 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 02:24 PM

No Problem. Glad I could help.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS