Jump to content



Photo

Commissar Squad Rules


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 12:34 PM

I just got my fresh new Commissar suqad, and enven though I'm missing "The Trediakovsky" model, I'm still excited.

I do have a question though, can a Commissar join the Command Squad? I know the rules state that the commissars follow all hero rules, but the command squad rules says "a hero can only join a Command Squad if he has the commander skill".

Since a commissar is not a hero, and this is a command squad rule, I believe they can. Am I wrong?

Also, what's the point of having the UGL boxes on the cards with the commissar's that have badass as well as the commissar squad card?



#2 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 02:15 PM

 A commissar may join a complete commissar squad along with a hero if you so choose. 



#3 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:11 PM

Dakkon426 said:

 

 A commissar may join a complete commissar squad along with a hero if you so choose. 

 

 

 

Yes, but the commissar squad is different from the command squad (The Medvedi I believe). I ask because the rules for the command squad limit what type of hero can join. Just wondering if it applies to the commissar that is trying to join that unit as well.

 

Also, just to clarify it states that a commissar cannot join an individiual hero, but can join a unit with a hero. I think that's what you meant, but wasn't sure.



#4 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:25 PM

Mr_Brightside said:

Also, what's the point of having the UGL boxes on the cards with the commissar's that have badass as well as the commissar squad card?

The point of the UGL boxes is so that you know how many UGLs they can use per attack. Even though the Drakoni have unlimited UGLs due to the Badass skill, they can still only use 3 per attack. Without the boxes you wouldn't know that, even though you'll never tick those boxes.

And you bring a good point about attaching a commissar to a Command Squad. Looking at the rules, I'd say you can't. Even though they don't count as a hero, "The Commissar obeys all the rules of a hero joining a unit." All the rules included the rule that says you must have Commander to join a Command Squad. Though I agree it's an iffy point.



#5 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:36 PM

Loophole Master said:

 

The Commissar obeys all the rules of a hero joining a unit." All the rules included the rule that says you must have Commander to join a Command Squad. Though I agree it's an iffy point.

 

 

 

 

I do think it's iffy, and I'm just trying to "bend" the rules in my favor, but the same argument could be made about a squad with jump (as long as they were the same armor). which is obviously not intended.



#6 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 05:59 PM

The last time I asked FFG about heroes joining command squads. I was pointed to this on page 23 of the Revised Core Rules.
A hero can only join a Command Squad if he has the Commander skill.

The answer was they had not to date produced a hero with the the “Commander” skill as of yet.

So I would say a Commissar could not join a command squad. But if attempt to bend you must, you should shoot FFG an e-mail to be sure.

This is from page 12 of Operation Zverograd.

COMMISSAR
A unit with the Commissar skill can join other units like a hero does. The Commissar
obeys all the rules of a hero joining a unit. However, the Commissar does not count as
a hero, therefore a hero may also join the same un
it. Only one Commissar can join a
unit (although an individual Commissar can join a full unit of Commissars). A Commissar
cannot join an individual hero who has not joined a squad. A Commissar joins a unit for
the entire game and cannot leave the unit for any reason. If the unit is brought back into
play, the Commissar returns to play with the unit.

Finally look at the thread Commissars in general discussion. FFG sent m a second e-mail stating that Commissars are armed with knife and grenade.



#7 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 07:18 AM

Offical ruling:

 

You recently asked a question about Dust Tactics:

 


Rule Question:
Can a commissar join the Medvedi unit?


Yes. :)


I hope this has answered your question. Happy Gaming!



#8 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 07:27 AM

Humm.. so apparently they dont "obey all the rules of a hero joining a unit"…

I don't think it's a bad ruling, but it's interesting that the answer was a simple "Yes", since going into any more detail would highlight the potential contradiction with the official rules.

 



#9 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 07:43 AM

Loophole Master said:

 

Humm.. so apparently they dont "obey all the rules of a hero joining a unit"…

I don't think it's a bad ruling, but it's interesting that the answer was a simple "Yes", since going into any more detail would highlight the potential contradiction with the official rules.

 

 

 

I think they ruled that way since it was the command squad's rule and not in the hero rules about joining a unit (even though the rule is about a hero joining). Or maybe Commissar is Russian for commander :)



#10 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 05:38 PM

Well this would make the SSU Command Squad a very spendy unit indeed.



#11 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 09:02 PM

IMO it's a good decision! The SSU Comand Squad can surely use a comissar. The anti-tank gun is too good to be left aside;)



#12 scorpnoire

scorpnoire

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:40 PM

This sounds interesting and I just have another question, though not yet a squad of 'em:

If I have two commissars squads, could the two guys with the bazooka each join a different squad, even though no other commissar is put into play?

Or would I need to use up the first squad before I could use the first guys from the second one?



#13 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:54 PM

 Nothing in the rules saying that you have to use a full squad before taking models from a second……… thinking about it, do they actually count as named characters so can only take one of each anyway?



#14 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 03:56 AM

Major Mishap said:

 Nothing in the rules saying that you have to use a full squad before taking models from a second……… thinking about it, do they actually count as named characters so can only take one of each anyway?

 

I'm trying to find a rule that limits you to only one "unit" of a specific hero (ie you can only have one Action Jackson),  but can't find that (Even though I'm 99% sure you can't). That beign said, the commisar indvidual cards do not have have rare unit, and apparently the only rules of a hero they have to abide by are just for the hero joining the unit. So this is a big MAYBE.



#15 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 05:40 PM

This is a very interesting question. As to fielding more than one of the same hero definitely not. These are individuals and therefore you can't field more than one.
But are the commissars individuals like the heroes? I would say yes sense they more or less follow the same rules as heroes. Of coarse there is only one way to be sure, ask FFG.



#16 Dcal12

Dcal12

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:25 AM

Mr_Brightside said:

Major Mishap said:

 

 Nothing in the rules saying that you have to use a full squad before taking models from a second……… thinking about it, do they actually count as named characters so can only take one of each anyway?

 

 

 

I'm trying to find a rule that limits you to only one "unit" of a specific hero (ie you can only have one Action Jackson),  but can't find that (Even though I'm 99% sure you can't). That beign said, the commisar indvidual cards do not have have rare unit, and apparently the only rules of a hero they have to abide by are just for the hero joining the unit. So this is a big MAYBE.

Operation Zverograd

Page 13

Rare Unit

"A player may only include one of each Rare unit in his army.  Just like Heroes, a player may not use duplicates of these unique units"



#17 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:11 AM

 Got a response from FFG, you can have multiple Commissar models.



#18 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:37 AM

 Good. That's how I envisioned it.

The whole "The Commissar obeys all the rules of a hero joining a unit" should be taken with a big grain of salt.



#19 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:59 AM

Dcal12 said:

 

Operation Zverograd

Page 13

Rare Unit

"A player may only include one of each Rare unit in his army.  Just like Heroes, a player may not use duplicates of these unique units"

 

 

 

Yes, I did see this, but Heros have been limited prior to the Zverograd release. I'm thinking I saw this in the original rules, but I still don't see anything in the revised rules. Must check when I get home.

 

*BTW I know that it's a commons sense thing about having a single hero. Just want to know if they ever offically said "Hey, Hey you. You can't do that." in the rules.



#20 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:13 AM

Yeah, it seems it isn't anywhere in the Revised Rules, but I'm sure it was in the original rulebook.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS