Detailed :if able: analysys
If able does much more wrong than good. There are only a few cards that benefit from if able - those witch don't need the whole "if able" section in FAQ because they're obvious. Cards that try to use it in a more complicated way end up in FAQ and confuse players. Not a single card depends on detailed "if able" semantics and doesn't need FAQ for explanation of what it does… Most just confirm obvious…
Get rid of "if able" FAQ section, explain those few cards that use it in non obvious way and never use if able in a non obvious way in the future.
After a discussion of one new card effect i decided to check how important "if able" wording is.
A poll on carddb fount that 35 of 1068 cards have "if able" in their test box.
Out of those 35 vast majority doesn't really need this problematic part, as their cards like:
Telephatic cthonian Response: After a support card is destroyed, choose an opponent. That opponent must sacrifice a character, if able.
• Bokrug: Forced Response: After Bokrug is wounded as the result of a C struggle, choose and wound another character committed to that story, if able.
Those cards just say that if it is impossible to do sth you cant do it… great, like i didn't knew that already. But doesn't harm. No faq details needed.
Many cards say "must commit to story, if able" so it pretty much doesn't change much, but is nice as it clarifies precedence with cards that stop certain characters from commiting to certain stories. No faq details needed.
There are a few funny ones:
Response: After Unlikely Informant commits to a story, choose an opponent. That opponent reveals his hand, if able.
If you win this conspiracy, you may cause all characters in play to lose Willpower and then go insane, if able.
If you win this conspiracy, you may search your deck for any conspiracy card and put it into play, if able.
Action: Choose an opponent. That opponent gains control of The Dunwich Horror, if able. If control changes[…]
I completely don't get whats the clause for. No faq details needed.
[EDIT] hmm Underwater is not clear because "if able" + "all characters"… [/EDIT]
3 characters forced responses that make clear you can play them even if nothing happens in response
(and i dont know if you couldn't if there was no if able… i guess you still could…) No faq details needed.
The cards that are left are:
Brain transplant, with [Action: Choose an insane character and a ready character controlled by the same player. The ready character goes insane, if able. Then, restore and ready the targeted insane character.]
that got a FAQ entry because of "if able" -> "then" that is completely unnecessary on this card.
[Action: Choose an insane character and a ready character controlled by the same player. Restore and ready the targeted insane character. The ready character goes insane, if able.] would be so much better, and have "good if able".
Play during your operations phase. Action: Each opponent chooses and discards 2 cards from his hand, if able.
another FAQ entry…
Charles Dexter Ward
very nice "if able" clarifying this card is awesome and not obvious change to card text No faq details needed.
Initiate of Huang Hun
Response: After Initiate of Huang Hun enters play, each player returns a character he control to its owner's hand if able.
hmm needs FAQ IMO - "each" + "if able" combo… does he return to hand if opponent has no characters of not; dont know scope of if able…
Initiation of Glaaki
Action: Choose an opponent. That opponent must sacrifice a character, if able. Then, you may put Servents of Glaaki into play from your discard pile.
needs FAQ. Is it like Brain transplant? If so get rid rid that stupid then… If you need sacrifice to get glaki servants back what's "if able" for…
(only if its night) Action: Choose a character. That character goes insane, if able. Otherwise, return it to the top of its owner's deck.
nice if able, notice no then and Otherwise that's not a magic keyword but is clear No faq details needed.
(and nice card to get rid of ancient ones etc)
The Black Goat's Rage
Action: Each player counts the (T) icons on all readied characters he controls. The player who counts the fewest (T) icons must immediately chose two characters he controls to go insane, if able.
FAQ entry, and it makes card bad… as having only one character protects him from insane and this is definetly not what "if able" literal meaning suggests
Response: After attached character commits to a story on your turn, pay 1 to choose up to two characters. Those characters must commit to that story, if able.
looked so innocent, but can target 2 characters. What happens when one of them becomes unable to commit… FAQ needed as again if able doestn say does it bind two characters or each of them has his commit "if abled"… FFG pls don relay on "if able" in any magick way, its so wrong…