Jump to content



Photo

Question about Hellblades


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Fenrisnorth

Fenrisnorth

    Member

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 02:49 PM

The book says they get a +2 Damage buff per enemy killed in an encounter, How does this interact with Hordes? Also, if you have a few slaves, could you butcher them as a sacrifice to Khorne before combat starts?



#2 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 02:53 PM

Khorne and his followers venerate combat and strength in combat, not slaughter for the sake of slaughter. If it were my choice as a GM I would say no, you can't 'charge' a Hellblade before hand by killing off some worthless slaves. Besides, that is just making an annoyance of yourself.



#3 Fenrisnorth

Fenrisnorth

    Member

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 05:09 PM

I would agree for balance's sake; but remember "Khorne cares not from whence the blood flows."

 

The real question was on how it interacted with hordes.



#4 Cifer

Cifer

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,790 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 05:51 AM

I'd consider hordes to be too insignificant for their blood to amount to anything. Killing your minion during a lull in combat (killing him before the combat even starts won't accomplish anything since only deaths inflicted during the same combat grant bonuses) on the other hand side would IMO count. Note: Minion, not random flunky.



#5 Fenrisnorth

Fenrisnorth

    Member

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:27 PM

 Well, Tim got back to me, He said that each point of Magnitude removed counted as a "kill" So case closed.



#6 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 04:49 PM

Fenrisnorth said:

I would agree for balance's sake; but remember "Khorne cares not from whence the blood flows."

 

The real question was on how it interacted with hordes.

I disagree. Why would he care about the skulls of those that aren't even worth fighting. I'm not saying they would live because he doesn't care, but that they mean much less than the skull of a warrior. The greater the warrior the better, obviously.



#7 Fenrisnorth

Fenrisnorth

    Member

  • Members
  • 319 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 04:59 PM

 "Khorne cares not from whence the blood flows" is kinda a famous tagline. Yes, he is the god of combat, but he is also the god of slaughter.  So don't give me this "Why would he care…" junk. He would care because it's blood, blood for the blood god, and another skull for his throne. 



#8 vogue69

vogue69

    Member

  • Members
  • 334 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 04:50 AM

Fenrisnorth said:

 Well, Tim got back to me, He said that each point of Magnitude removed counted as a "kill" So case closed.

 

holy frikkin crap



#9 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,008 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 06:45 AM

That's insane. First, 1 Mag loss and 1 death are different. Second you're going to get up to +50 damage.



#10 Cifer

Cifer

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,790 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 09:44 AM

@fenrisnorth

"Khorne cares not from whence the blood flows" is kinda a famous tagline. Yes, he is the god of combat, but he is also the god of slaughter. So don't give me this "Why would he care…" junk. He would care because it's blood, blood for the blood god, and another skull for his throne.

The quote has two interpretations - one being that it's actually irrelevant who you're killing, the other being that it's irrelevant whose side the guy you're killing is on. Khorne doesn't care whether you kill a Space Marine Champion or a World Eater Berserker, although the death of the latter ostensibly weakens his own forces. However, BC took great pains to ascribe certain positive traits to each Chaos God and Khorne's is martial bravery. Khorne gives positive Corruption if you kill a superior foe, not if you slaughter pawns (core rules, page 289).



#11 Husky.Gnoll

Husky.Gnoll

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 11:55 AM

Fenrisnorth said:

 Well, Tim got back to me, He said that each point of Magnitude removed counted as a "kill" So case closed.

 

I agree, but I would suggest if the horde's magnitude is low like 1-3, I wouldn't count it then. But if the horde is strong enough then I would count getting bonuses off it.

The main reason is fluff/reasoning. If your pit off against a horde of small creatures or humanoids, like nurglings or snotlings, the blades is not gaining strength off their souls (much like eating potato chips). But if you fighting let's say a horde of Orks or Imperial Guardmen, then you can qualify for the gaining the bonus (as the blade gorges on the feast of many souls.)



#12 Amaimon

Amaimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:54 AM

 Im OK with that 1 mag = 1 kill, but I would restrict that to one "kill" per attack. You just have to deal at least one magnitude damage in this attack. 



#13 Chastity

Chastity

    Member

  • Members
  • 181 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:24 AM

bogi_khaosa said:

That's insane. First, 1 Mag loss and 1 death are different. Second you're going to get up to +50 damage.

Which will do you no good at all against a Horde, and if the Horde is fighting alongside a more powerful enemy, then by the time you've "charged up" by slaughtering the Horde the more powerful enemy is probably either dead or killing you.



#14 PnPgamer

PnPgamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:51 PM

Chastity said:

bogi_khaosa said:

 

That's insane. First, 1 Mag loss and 1 death are different. Second you're going to get up to +50 damage.

 

 

Which will do you no good at all against a Horde, and if the Horde is fighting alongside a more powerful enemy, then by the time you've "charged up" by slaughtering the Horde the more powerful enemy is probably either dead or killing you.

was going to point out something along these lines as well.



#15 Ferrous82

Ferrous82

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 06:47 AM

My take is, if you manage to get your hands on a Hellblade (and your GM isn't letting you have one easily) then sure, a kill is a kill. Aside from certain Daemonweapons, the Hellblade is the cream of the crop.



#16 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,008 posts

Posted 18 August 2012 - 01:20 PM

Chastity said:

 

Which will do you no good at all against a Horde, and if the Horde is fighting alongside a more powerful enemy, then by the time you've "charged up" by slaughtering the Horde the more powerful enemy is probably either dead or killing you.

This… doesn't make sense. You fight the Horde, get your + 50 damage, then run over and slice the tank in half that your other party members are fighting.



#17 HappyDaze

HappyDaze

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,824 posts

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:55 PM

Ferrous82 said:

My take is, if you manage to get your hands on a Hellblade (and your GM isn't letting you have one easily) then sure, a kill is a kill. Aside from certain Daemonweapons, the Hellblade is the cream of the crop.

Until you need that hand to do something else and can't pass the WP test to put the damn sword away. Makes it hard to even use ranged weapons in the other hand if they need to be reloaded and grenades are likely problematic too.


Ignore, Ignore, you must learn Ignore!

 

Now Ignoring: Nobody!


#18 Cifer

Cifer

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,790 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

@Chastity

Which will do you no good at all against a Horde, and if the Horde is fighting alongside a more powerful enemy, then by the time you've "charged up" by slaughtering the Horde the more powerful enemy is probably either dead or killing you.

Why wouldn't I switch targets? Let's say I spend two turns attacking a horde and roll relatively well. I've got Whirlwind of Death (t2 talent), a WS of 52 and no reason not to go all-out since I can't evade a horde anyway. I roll a 30 and a 60. That means I have six DoS on the first and three DoS on the second roll. I thus deal four magnitude hits from the damage and six from the Whirlwind. My hellblade now inflicts 1d10+36 P10 damage (+6 standard, +10 SB with power armour, +20 for ten kills).

So… either my friends kill everything remotely note-worthy within these two rounds or I kill it in the third.

May I state the question whether that's actually your opinion?



#19 Ferrous82

Ferrous82

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 01:07 PM

Ranged weapons? What are those? Can you take skulls with them? I am doubtful.



#20 HappyDaze

HappyDaze

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,824 posts

Posted 21 August 2012 - 04:57 PM

Ferrous82 said:

Ranged weapons? What are those? Can you take skulls with them? I am doubtful.

Ranged weapons are what you use against flying opponents - like many Eldar, Dark Eldar ,and Tau units and even some of the Necrons. For that matter, there are many daemons that fly too, and not all of them are friendly. Khorne's Berserkers may not care for ranged attacks, but they are only a small group of extremists - most followers of Khorne love shooting their opponents.


Ignore, Ignore, you must learn Ignore!

 

Now Ignoring: Nobody!





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS