Unbreakable Shallya Priest

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Doc4

Doc4

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:27 AM

Hello there. I'm a veteran GM who's new to this system. After playing our first session, we ran into an odd issue where our Shallyan priest was a virtual wall of impenitrability. 

The beginning character had a shield, scalemail, and used the defensive Shallya prayer where your cautious stance counted as soak. Totaled, it came to a soak value of 11 with enemies throwing 3 or 4 challenge dice to even hit. This doesn't even take into account any dodge, block, or parry (or improved versions of the same).

Now, I have no problem with this player emphasizing the tank aspect of play, but is this as designed for a starting character? I know I can ratchet up the enemies or create custom powers that pierce through soak, but throwing standard goblins or small chaos creatures that are a challenge for the other characters do only the minimum 1 damage per the rules (if I remember correctly) to this priest.

So, lets focus on the soak alone, does 11 soak for a starting character seem about right? It seems far over the top compared to the other characters to me. Even the player of the character was surprised by the amount and thought it a bit too much. 

Is there a restriction that prevents Shallyan's from wearing armour? Did we get some rule or prayer wrong in our first session? 

As it stands now, enemies that are a challenge for the rest of the group are a joke to this priest who absorbs almost every bit of damage if the blows are not deflected before hitting in the first place.

Any ideas?

Tom / Doc4

#2 Matchstickman

Matchstickman

• Members
  • 139 posts

Posted 04 July 2012 - 09:38 AM