Jump to content



Photo

Supporting empty Capital city


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Nystan

Nystan

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 July 2012 - 05:59 AM

 Last night i was playing with my friends as Tyrell and had 2 footmen trying to invade martell's capital, that had 0 units defending it and the +2 bonus of the capital and a single ship supporting the area.
My question is, if the capital has no soldiers do the supporting ship add its bonus and i have to enter a battle to claim that castle or just capture it without figthing?



#2 Spike1382

Spike1382

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 04 July 2012 - 07:10 AM

 That isn't a bonus, that is a garrison. It is a single two strength unit that can't move. Not sure if you can give them orders though.



#3 Prince Capsicum

Prince Capsicum

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:22 PM

Unfortunately you can only give support to units and the garrison isn't a unit of any sort. 



#4 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 01:45 AM

Marching into an area with a garrison causes a battle, even if there are no units there.  A defending player can always be supported, even if there are no defending units.

The garrison is not a unit, so it does not count against supply, and it cannot receive an order.  Its only function is to cause the battle to occur and to provide two defensive combat strength.



#5 jasonconlon

jasonconlon

    Member

  • Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 02:26 PM

I concur with dypaca's answer.
I can't find anything in the rules to support a unit requirement for support as suggested by Prince Capsicum.



#6 Ramiro

Ramiro

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 07 August 2012 - 12:58 PM

FYI, check page 26 in the manual.



#7 Prince Capsicum

Prince Capsicum

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 01:33 AM

 I just read page 26 and I still stand by what I said. You can only give another unit support and the rules state that the garrison is not a unit. 



#8 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 407 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 03:31 AM

Where do the rules say "You can only give another unit support"?

From the Rulebook:

"A player who controls such an adjacent Support order may now grant (or refuse to grant) his supporting Combat Strength to either the attacker or the defender."

"Support may be given to any adjacent combat, whether a supporting player’s own forces are in the combat, or the combat is between two other players."

That would seem to include Garrisons, no?



#9 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

rulebook page 26 under GARRISONS

paragraph 3:

If a home area containing a Garrison is attacked, the strength
of the Garrison (the value printed on the token) is added to the
defender’s initial Combat Strength (see page 17). If there are no
units defending a location with a Garrison token, combat still
occurs as normal as if the Garrison was a single unit.

 I bolded and italicized the text that is important.

that should answer the questions



#10 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:50 AM

 

just to clear some other confusion up,

combat only occurs between units. (calculating strengths and playing cards)

Whenever a player marches one or more of his units into an
area containing units from another House, combat ensues.(page 17 of rulebook)



#11 Prince Capsicum

Prince Capsicum

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:59 PM

 Hmm that gives me a lot to reflect on. Thanks for the clarification and sorry for the confusion.



#12 Joeyk1985

Joeyk1985

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:20 AM

jhagen said:

 

just to clear some other confusion up,

combat only occurs between units. (calculating strengths and playing cards)

Whenever a player marches one or more of his units into an
area containing units from another House, combat ensues.(page 17 of rulebook)

Can you support an embattled area if it has only a power token on it (no units)?

Do you use house cards?



#13 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:46 AM

this is discussed in other posts in these forums.

There are 2 conflicting arguments on the matter. Both have validity.

1. a region that is empty cannot be supported. If at any time there are no units to support in the embattled region, combat calculations stop and the opposing army takes control (or keeps control) immediately.

2. a region that was occupied at the start of combat may still be supported even if a card played removed the last unit from the board.

 

I personally use rule 1. Many others use rule 2. Both are correct when interpreting the rules to support either argument. FFG hasn't clarified this confusion at the moment.



#14 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 07:56 PM

From FFG's FAQ:

"Q: If Mace Tyrell’s text ability destroys the last
remaining defending unit, does the combat still
continue?
A: Yes."

and as discussed above there is nothing in the rules saying that you must have units to be supported.

However I suspect Joeyk1985 was talking about marching into an area which has only a power token (no units or garrison).  In this case there is no battle and the power token is discarded.  It does not even count as an attack, meaning you can do this to multiple areas with one march order.



#15 Joeyk1985

Joeyk1985

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:49 PM

dypaca said:

From FFG's FAQ:

"Q: If Mace Tyrell’s text ability destroys the last
remaining defending unit, does the combat still
continue?
A: Yes."

and as discussed above there is nothing in the rules saying that you must have units to be supported.

However I suspect Joeyk1985 was talking about marching into an area which has only a power token (no units or garrison).  In this case there is no battle and the power token is discarded.  It does not even count as an attack, meaning you can do this to multiple areas with one march order.

Thanks for the clarifications dypaca and jhagen…

And yes,dypaca, i meant exactly that…






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS