Jump to content



Photo

No new objective cards in our game


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Panzerkanzler

Panzerkanzler

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:57 AM

Greetings dear board game aficionados!

 

Yesterday me and four of my friends played TI for the second time, and the first time with the strategic cards from Shattered Empire. We played it for a long time and never finished fully, yours truly "won" after a while with 6 points. However…when we played with the original strategic cards one of the cards (imperium or politial perhaps) had the active player draw a new objective card. But with the new strategic cards no such function exist and we were pretty much stuck with the same ten OCs the whole game. What did we do wrong?



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,563 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:15 AM

Read Bureaucracy a little more closely.  It's more complicated than Imperial I and II, but it does get you to reveal new objectives every time it gets picked.



#3 Panzerkanzler

Panzerkanzler

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 01:26 AM

I don't have the SCs or the game manuals with me at the moment, but doesn't Imperium II simply replace Imperium from the base game? Bureaucracy is a card from shards of the throne, no?

 



#4 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 03:20 AM

 Both Imperial II and Bureaucracy are in Shattered Empire. Either can be used to replace Imperial from the original game.



#5 Panzerkanzler

Panzerkanzler

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 03:44 AM

Kerrin2 said:

 Both Imperial II and Bureaucracy are in Shattered Empire. Either can be used to replace Imperial from the original game.

 

This is confusing. I'm reading the Imperial II card right now (p. 14 in the shattered empire booklet) and nowhere does it state that you get to reveal additional objective cards. So…if playing with the new SCs found in shattered empire we MUST use the bureaucracy card as that is the only way to get more objectives? In that case I don't understand what purpose the imperial II card serves at all. 



#6 Panzerkanzler

Panzerkanzler

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:16 AM

 Ah, figured it out. I made several errors when we played. First, I didn't separate the old and new objective decks, but rather mixed them. Second, I used imperial II without noticing that the card is only to be used with a certain other optional rule. And third, I mixed the objective cards a bit wrong so we got no stage two cards. Wow…this was a bad case of RTFM!



#7 Kerrin2

Kerrin2

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:00 AM

 Ah shoot, I should have mentioned the Age Of Empires rule in my previous post. Glad you figured it out though!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS