Jump to content



Photo

Underground Conspiracy


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 karat

karat

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:10 AM

Officially, what faction is Underground Conspiracy?

Officially, what does Underground Conspiracy resource as?

Looking through the FAQ, there doesn't seem to be an errata for this card, though it looks like a syndicate card was printed with a shub symbol. 



#2 Hellfury

Hellfury

    Member

  • Members
  • 830 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 11:00 AM

karat said:

 

Officially, what faction is Underground Conspiracy?

Officially, what does Underground Conspiracy resource as?

Looking through the FAQ, there doesn't seem to be an errata for this card, though it looks like a syndicate card was printed with a shub symbol. 

 

 

Both of the following cards are known errors:

 

They are known to be bona fide errors due to the original CCG printing of these cards with the correctly corresponding resource icons.

There was a large kerfluffle about this when the asylum pack was released. Why this has not been resolved in the FAQ as errata is beyond me.
 



#3 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:52 AM

 I would imagine that in the absence of official errata, in an official tournament, you should play them as printed.  However, I think they are errors and will be corrected in an errata sheet.

But then again, Steve Clarney never returned to the University from sabbatical…

 



#4 COCLCG

COCLCG

    Member

  • Members
  • 672 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 02:37 AM

its funny because i quite like the idea of a RARE FEW cards being dual - faction specific.



#5 Hellfury

Hellfury

    Member

  • Members
  • 830 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:05 AM

TheProfessor said:

But then again, Steve Clarney never returned to the University from sabbatical…

Nope, he sure didn't.

But then again at least we got an official statement on how it was supposed to be viewed, basically the rough paraphrasing was: "Oops, we screwed up. Sorry guys. You can use him as Miskatonic, but he is officially an agency man now."

Also, he is more than just a simple misalignment of the resource icons as he is on a agency character card. The above conspiracies are the correct coloration for their factions, etc. but the wrong resource icon. So the type of error is a bit different even if not by much.

I agree that it should be used as printed until errata is made, if it is ever addressed.



#6 Hellfury

Hellfury

    Member

  • Members
  • 830 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:15 AM

COCLCG said:

its funny because i quite like the idea of a RARE FEW cards being dual - faction specific.

I like them too and hope that FFG explores this more in future cards. There are too few cards of this type in my opinion. The broken example of Endless Interrogation should not stop them from trying this more in the future.

What I do not like is when it comes about as an obvious error.



#7 AUCodeMonkey

AUCodeMonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 06:14 AM

They did actually put out a few other "dual faction" cards with Lodge Barkeep and that Syndicate event with Steadfast MU (sorry, at work and can't find the card right now), and with Cthonian Stone as well. I do like these cards quite a bit, actually, as it always jumpstarts my brain to think of other cards in those factions that could work well together…



#8 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 09:05 PM

Yeah, but these aren't steadfast icons: It's cards with a different resource icon. And that's even more confusing as treating Steve Clarney as a Miskatonic character. Besides, this was one of the (many) questions sent to and answered by Damon before the German Regionals (yes, it's a print error!). I'm pretty sure it'll show up in the next FAQ release.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS