Jump to content



Photo

Passage through Mirkwood


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 23 June 2012 - 04:01 PM

My question is in regards to the Ungoliath Spawn (Not sure I spelled that correctly).  When I get the 3B card which states that the quest is not completed until the spawn is found and defeated;

 

Two questions.

 

1) If I had already found and defeated him while on quest 2B or 1B, does that count?

 

2) If the spawn was in the discard pile due to a shadow effect, must I exhaust the remainder of the active encounter deck before the spawn can be reshuffled back into the encounter deck or can I immediately shuffle him into the deck?  It seems rather silly to have to exhaust the encounter deck just to reshuffle him in, but from a purist perspective, this seems to be the only choice.  I was hoping there was a FAQ or generally accepted rule others play by.



#2 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 23 June 2012 - 04:14 PM

I think I answered one of my questions….the 3B quest allows each player to pick a spider of their choice…so obvioiusly, if the spawn was not found as of yet, or was in the discard pile due to being a shadow, the player can just pick the spawn and, voila, no need to exhaust the encounter deck  etc. etc.

 

So that leaves only one question…if the spawn was defeated in 1B or 2B, do you automatically win in 3B?



#3 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,771 posts

Posted 24 June 2012 - 12:14 AM

nope sorry you have to kill her again

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#4 Carbolicious

Carbolicious

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 03:34 PM

I have a question about this quest.  Why are there two #3 cards, and which do we play first?  I guess that's two questions.  Thanks!



#5 starhawk77

starhawk77

    Member

  • Members
  • 444 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 06:06 PM

Once you complete Stage 2B, you randomly select one of the Stage 3 cards. Basically, the scenario can have two different endings.



#6 Carbolicious

Carbolicious

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 03:39 PM

Interesting.  I never saw it mentioned in the rule book.  I'm finding a lot of stuff that isn't really explained very well.  I guess that's why this forum exists.



#7 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 03:59 PM

It is instructed in the quest card 2B, if you read it carefully, you don't have to look for it in the rulebook.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#8 rfox01

rfox01

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:06 PM

I know I'm replying to this thread late so it's probably dead, but I'm starting this game new and I'm scanning these forums to pick up answers to my questions and thought I'd comment to the two Stage 3 cards in Passage through Mirkwood. I too was confused at first. Since I didn't want to spoil the game by reading through the cards first and side 3A say the same thing on both cards, I thought I got a duplicate until I flipped them over to see that they were different and guessed that maybe they are alternate endings. It wasn't until I actually go to Stage 2 during the gameplay that I read the text to confirm my suspicion.

Since this is the first quest new players play, and the rulebook does specificically tell you to start with this quest, and for people like me that don't want to read through all the cards to spoil the game, the rulebook could have included a simple statement to assure the new player that, yes, there are two Stage 3 cards in this quest.

EDIT: I guess the rulebook does tell you there are 4 cards in the first quest. But it says Quest cards 120-123, whereas my Passage of Mirkwood quests cards are numbered 119, 120, ???, ???.



#9 Laco

Laco

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:30 AM

hi. I have a question. quest card core 121. A Chosen Path - "Don't Leave the Path!". when i search the encounter deck and discard pile for 1 Spider card and Ungoliant's Spawn i must shuffle encounter deck and/or discard pile? thx



#10 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:52 AM

Laco said:

hi. I have a question. quest card core 121. A Chosen Path - "Don't Leave the Path!". when i search the encounter deck and discard pile for 1 Spider card and Ungoliant's Spawn i must shuffle encounter deck and/or discard pile? thx

 

You only shuffle encounter deck. Discard pile is never shuffled in itself.

 

If you are playing solo, you only reveal 1 spider card….


Carlos José Matos


#11 Laco

Laco

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:58 AM

thank you for your answer.



#12 Gutzwald

Gutzwald

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:38 AM

Lots of good information.  But I didn't see this covered.

 

What if boss spider (Ungol***) is already on the table when the quest card is revealed that she has to be Found and killed.

 

When playing the Lore deck, I have used the Forest Snare Attachment card to make it so she cannot attack.  Then hit her for a few points as the occassion allows.  Wait for the Quest to advance, and then kill her off.

 

Are we really expected to kill her, exhaust the encounter deck, shuffle her back in anc continue.  It seems that you are almost guaranteed to lose the game since the Threat dial is advanced at least one each and every turn.



#13 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:43 AM

No. If Ungoliant Spider is in play (staging area or engaged) when you revel the quest card 3b Don't Leave the Path, you need to search for another spider enemy and kill only Ungoliant to win the game.


  • Smiticus likes this

Carlos José Matos


#14 SOGra

SOGra

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 05:51 PM

The one 3B quest card says the quest is not complete until you kill Ungoliath Spawn. 

We have been playing under the assumption that there is only one Ungoliath Spawn. And if it was killed earlier, you have already fulfilled 3B to complete the quest. We assumed it is a completely unique Boss, and there are not two to defeat. If already defeated, you win, (after you kill a spider you must find in the deck to finish the quest.

If you kill Ungloiath Spawn and your fork in the road is more questing (10 progress tokens needed) then the killing of Ungoliath Spawn is just an incidental accomplishment along the way to that particular quests end. 

That was our interpretation.

 



#15 Alex de la Fang

Alex de la Fang

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 06:52 PM

Your interpretation is wrong, sorry. 

There is a lot of Ungoliath's Spawns (one of them is living near Minas Morgul), so you have to find and kill one more. You have to add one Spider from encounter deck or discard, so there is no problem to find it



#16 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:01 PM

There's a parallel to this situation in The Redhorn Gate adventure pack.  There, the climax of the quest is when players reach the summit of Caradhras, a location card.  Caradhras is on the table throughout the whole game, but you aren't allowed to travel there until the 3rd stage of the quest.  Clever players, however, can remove it from the game before you're actually intended to.  

When this happened, people were asking if you had to RETURN to Caradhras when you got to the 3rd stage of the quest.  This is similar to having to kill Ungoliant's Spawn a second time in the Passage through Mirkwood quest.  People were saying the same things: doesn't make sense, isn't fair, etc.  Nonetheless, the developers clarified in an older release of the official FAQ: you do indeed have to return to Caradhras on stage 3B even if you have already placed it in your victory display.  

The lesson here is that you have to follow card text to the letter.  The game has no 'memory,' for better or for worse.  The victory display is the closest thing the game has to a memory, but even cards in that display can be pulled back out.  To satisfy the conditions on quest card 3B in PtM, you have to defeat Ungoliant's Spawn while 3B is the active quest.



#17 Smiticus

Smiticus

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 December 2013 - 10:31 AM

I just played my first two games, and this was one of my questions. So thank you for the responses!

 

Here is my summary for the "Don't Leave the Path!" quest stage (I hope I got this right!):

  • If Ungoliant's Spawn is in play (staged or engaged), then search the encounter deck or discard pile for a different spider and put it in the staging area
  • If Ungoliant's Spawn is not in play (in deck or discard pile), then search the encounter deck or discard pile for Ungoliant's Spawn and put it in the staging area
  • Live dangerously :ph34r: :  If U.S. is not in play, stage a different spider and wait for U.S. to get revealed in a later round

Who may ascent the hill of the Lord? Who may stand in his holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart; he who does not lift up his soul to what is false nor swears deceitfully.  -- God (Psalm 24:3-4)


#18 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 01 January 2014 - 01:30 AM

Yep, you've got it right.  Typically if US is revealed before stage 3, it is a good idea to keep it alive until you get to 3.  Put a bunch of damage on to it, but leave it alive (if your deck can handle having him around for awhile) so that once you get to 3, all you have to do is breathe on him to win.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS