Jump to content



Photo

Basic rule question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Davewave

Davewave

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:56 PM

 Hi all

After our last game I am still not 100 percent sure what is allowed when you activate a system. For example. 

If I activate a system during my tactical turn and decide to build in that system, then when my turn comes around again in the same round and phase, am I allowed to build again in that system i activated already even though it wasn't activated that turn?

 

If so please show me where it is in the manual as I have looked everywhere

Cheers

David



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 10:30 PM

Davewave said:

 Hi all

After our last game I am still not 100 percent sure what is allowed when you activate a system. For example. 

If I activate a system during my tactical turn and decide to build in that system, then when my turn comes around again in the same round and phase, am I allowed to build again in that system i activated already even though it wasn't activated that turn?

 

If so please show me where it is in the manual as I have looked everywhere

Cheers

David

The normal build-time comes as the last step of the tactical action. Thus, building in a system requires you to activate the system in question. And since you only can activate non-activated systems there is, in general, a "one build per system" limit.

Certain circumstances (i.e. strategy cards) allow you to build in a system that is already activated though. They are, off the top of my head, the Imperial and Imperial II secondaries, the Production primary and the Industry Primary. The latter is only used in the "Fall of the Empire" scenario from Shards of the Throne.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Treguard

Treguard

    Member

  • Members
  • 202 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 11:01 PM

That might sound like a limitation, only one (possibly two) build action per spacedock per round, but you have to plan around your space docks. Placing all three in one trinary planet system, allowing for one very big push of units but only from one point on the map, will play very differently to having them spread to 3 different systems, which has its own strategic advantages and disadvantages.

 



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 20 June 2012 - 05:09 AM

I should also mention the tactic of using the Warfare primary to pick a placed CC back up from an activated system allowing you to activate, and subsequentially build in it, a second time.

This leads me to conclude that with some luck and sly persuasion/mindgaming you could potentially build up to four(!) times in the same system.

Once via the [8]Imperial or [8]Imperial II secondary.
Once via regular activation
Once via either [4]Production primary or the above mentioned [6]Warfare primary tactic.
Once via the Action Card that is essentially a copy of the [6]Warfare primary.

In a three or four player game you actually have the possible potential to build up to five(!!) times IF you can procure both [4]Production AND [6]Warfare.
If you can actually afford to build five times, however, is another matter.
You should also try to move the built units away from the system in question between builds. So to pull this sequence off effectively you would need at least 5CCs to spare.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 Treguard

Treguard

    Member

  • Members
  • 202 posts

Posted 21 June 2012 - 12:33 AM

O_O

I know that's entirely legit, so not surprising but still..

o_o



#6 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 21 June 2012 - 04:17 AM

 If you have Sarween Tools and all Space Docks in a triplanet system You can use the above mentioned tactic to get 30(!) fighters or ground forces without paying a single resource. Perfect for a Sol player with his flagship out…


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#7 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 21 June 2012 - 04:53 AM

There are other Action cards and that will allow more builds if you combo them. 

I am not sure if these action cards came with the original game?  Action cards like these is why you get the expansions.

 "Touch of Genius"(duplicate an action card), "Synchronicity"(take any action card from the deck and shuffle the deck) ,  "Unexpected action".            Hint….there is sometimes more then 1 of these powerful cards in the deck 

You have not reach the limit yet in how many times a space dock could be activated to spam fighters.

If you have alot of trade goods stored up, you can probably make as many fighters as you can support.  

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS