Jump to content



Photo

Attacks from an occupied space


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Pongle

Pongle

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:57 AM

Anyone see anything yet about launching an attack from an occupied space?

 

I.e. If I move a monster on top of another monster as part of its move (stil having MPs left to move off the space afterward) can I launch an attack?

 

I think in D1 you could not do this, not sure if that is the case in D2.

 

Thanks!



#2 Araqiel

Araqiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 03:08 AM

Quite sure that's not possible here either.

Doing a move action gives you a number of movement points. It's kind of a special action that is done once those movepoints are awarded. Those movement points can be used however and whenever (during your turn) you wish. However stopping and restarting entail "ending movement" for a while.
Remember the move action itself is over once the points have been awarded to you, so my take is that ending movement is halting you character in a space at any time. Ending movement is not using all the movement points, the move action is already over once the points have been awarded.

And since you can't end movement on a occupied space I'd say no.



#3 Antistone

Antistone

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 06:06 AM

The rules appear to make a distinction between "ending" and "interrupting" your movement.  It's not clear to me that the rules for ending movement apply to interrupting your movement.

Also, my reading is that doing anything other than continuing to move is considered an "interruption" of your movement action. So if you can't "interrupt" in another figure's space, that wouldn't just prevent attacks, it would prevent using skills (even ones that don't require an action), drinking potions, trading items, using your heroic feat, etc. Basically, anything that you couldn't do half-way through another action (like an attack).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS