Jump to content



Photo

black dog vs negotium


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 COCLCG

COCLCG

    Member

  • Members
  • 672 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 04:57 AM

another fine line / grey area of the wording question.

of course cost 2's can only COMMIT to negotium, but is the actual act COMMIT, seperate to the definition COMMITTED??

it could be said that the black dog doesn't COMMIT to a story using its special ability, but enters play already COMMITTED.

therefor the question is, can it 'phase in' to a different story if negotium is in play???



#2 Penfold

Penfold

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,180 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 11:56 AM

 Yes it can. Committing is the game process to commit to stories. A card effect could cause a character to be committed outside of the regular game mechanics, in the same way a card can enter play insane even if the card cannot be made insane otherwise.



#3 COCLCG

COCLCG

    Member

  • Members
  • 672 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 12:42 PM

excellent. just that black dog actually has the word 'committed' in its text so threw me a bit. thanks mr. penfold.



#4 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,025 posts

Posted 17 June 2012 - 09:18 PM

Wow, good catch! My intuition would have been that it doesn't work. But since Penfold seems to think otherwise I'm inclined to believe it - considering his almost telepathic insight into Damon's mind and therefore rules knowledge



#5 Penfold

Penfold

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,180 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 06:04 AM

 I would hardly call it telepathic. I read the rules and FAQ a lot. I've played Damon and discussed the game with him at cons/events but every once in a while he catches me with his rulings. I have yet to see something that after he explains it doesn't make sense, but sometimes it requires him to draw a map for me to follow. I bow down to his rules-fu.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS