Jump to content



Photo

Destroyed while carrying troops - large vehicles


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Hairystef

Hairystef

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:08 PM

Weird, I couldn't find anything in the FAQ or this forum…

When a Allied large vehicle gets destroyed while transporting troops, it's clear how you determine who survives, but it's less clear where they end up after.  I play it as that the owning player removes the transporting vehicle and puts the survivors in one of the four squares that the vehicle occupied.  One squad per square max and which of the four squares is left to the owning player's choice.

While playing with a friend, he goes :" But wouldn't the troops exit to flee the wreckage?  Couldn't they be placed in an adjacent square to the destroyed vehicle?  Shouldn't  the wreckage stay there to block L.O.S.?"  Alright, that final question is better left to house rules, but the others I found valid.  The rules aren't cristal clear on where they should be deployed.  I based my final answer : on one of the four squares, on the fact that the transported troops usually should spend one action to move to an adjacent square.  Since, when the vehicle was destroyed, the troops weren't in their turn, they couldn't use the move action necessary to permit this.

Maybe, if there's a rewrite, FFG should make the text clearer and not leave the players having to think through the right answer.

What do you guys think?  Have you had this situation and the same conversation? 



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 04:20 PM

I agree that the surviving soldiers should be placed in one of the squares previously occupied by the carrying vehicle. Why should the troops get a free move?

But the Airborne Transport does create a potential problem. It only occupies one square, so there's only one square for any surviving troops to occupy. Normally that won't be a problem, but there are exceptions. What if there are several SpecOps squads inside the chopper? Two squads cannot occupy the same square, so one of them would have to move. The chopper can carry up to 4 SpecOps squads, so there's a distinct possibility of there simply not being enough free squares available for all of them, even if they are allowed to be placed in adjacent squares.



#3 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 05:20 PM

I would say you are on to something there. I would ask Fantasy Flight rules boys. I would be very interested in what the answer is.



#4 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 08:44 PM

 Where to deploy passengers is not in the FAQ or posted here before because the answer is, as OP and loophole say, are placed  where the model was, so the rules are quite clear.



#5 Hairystef

Hairystef

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 02:05 AM

Major Mishap said:

 so the rules are quite clear.

Not so sure as you are…

Question sent to FFG rules guru :

"Can you go check on the forums :
http://www.fantasyfl...=1&efidt=667530

 

It seems the case of surviving tranported troops need some clarification.
#1 - Maybe it would be a good thing to put in the FAQ that surviving troops are, in fact, deployed in the space(s) previously occupied by the transporting vehicle.
#2 - What happens when the surviving troops happen to take up more spaces than those occupied by the original vehicle? Are they lost? Are the pilled up in the spaces until they can be moved elsewhere? Do they activate out of sequence to move to a free space? What happens if the vehicle was encircled and there are no free spaces around?

Thanks for your time,
Stef."



#6 Hairystef

Hairystef

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 10:36 AM

FFG's answer :

Each surviving unit is placed by its owner on an empty space that was previously occupied by the destroyed transport. If there are not enough of these empty spaces to accomodate surviving units, they are placed on any legal adjacent space. If a unit cannot be placed on any of these spaces, the unit is eliminated.

 

 

I hope this has answered your questions. Happy Gaming!

Z*** T**********

Assoc. Miniatures Games Producer
Fantasy Flight Games
 



#7 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:44 PM

Hehe, good answer. Basically "If you're really going to be so nitpicky as to be coming up with these terribly unlikely rule-breaking scenarios, just kill your troops and leave me alone." 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS