Interview with Paul Thorn, champion of the Munich Regional

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 mischraum.de

mischraum.de

• Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 08:18 AM

This is an e-mail interview I did with Paul Thorn, winner of the Regional in Munich. I hope it motivates some of you guys out there to get actively involved in the tournament scene.

Hi Paul! For me you came like out of the nowhere. Now you have won the Regional in Munich. Being the first of 12 players doesn‘t sound like that a great achievement compared to other tournament games but you were ahead of players in that tournament that did quite well in the last European Championship in Liege. 

How long have you been playing Call of Cthulhu?

I've been playing for about eight months. I started buying my own cards and deckbuilding about four months ago.

Have you experience with other customizable or strategy games?

COC LCG is the first customizable card game that I have played. I have played quite a few wargames and other strategic board games, though.

What has brought you into the Call of Cthulhu LCG?

A friend bought a core set and suggested that we play. I became an addict right away. We played many variations using randomly selected decks. After meeting a third player at a local game store, I started buying my own cards, and the three of us began meeting regularly to play using our own decks.

What has brought you into gaming?

I liked simple strategy games (like Risk) when I was a child, and started playing more sophisticated ones when I went to high school and discovered other people that shared my love of strategizing.

What is your favourite aspect of the Call of Cthulhu LCG?

The combination of out-of-game and in-game strategy is great, along with the great replay value originating from deckbuilding and randomized deck order. I ain't bored yet.

Is there anything you dislike about the game?

Perhaps that it's too addictive.