Jump to content



Photo

Burst Weapons/Grenades


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Sickboy13

Sickboy13

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 June 2012 - 06:24 AM

 My friend and I had a question on Burst weapons…

the rulebook says on p.57 "Cover may not be used to reduce the damage of an Attack action that includes at least one Burst weapon."

so the "Fireball" unloads on a unit 2 in a building with its Napalm thrower and its .50 cal and .30 cals, are wounds caused by the machine guns ignoring the hard cover as well because of the burst ability of the napalm thrower? 

so say a Recon Ranger Squad unloads on a unit 2 in a building giving hard cover, firing all its M1's, .30 cal, and 2 UGlL's. Because they fired the UGL's with the grenade effect that also grants no cover, does this apply to wounds also caused by the .30 cal and the M1's?

 



#2 felkor

felkor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,084 posts

Posted 07 June 2012 - 06:33 AM

Yup.  As long as one of the weapons used in the attack ignores cover, they all do.



#3 ItsUncertainWho

ItsUncertainWho

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 07 June 2012 - 06:54 AM

Think of it as the targets of the attack scattering when the burst weapon or grenades come through the cover. When the targets scatter from the grenade or burst it makes it easier for the guns to hit.

 



#4 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 07 June 2012 - 06:56 AM

felkor said:

 

Yup.  As long as one of the weapons used in the attack ignores cover, they all do.

 

 

 

Which actually makes sense once you've seen how folks tend to run around in the open to find new cover when grenades and flames start landing in their current hidey holes. 

 

Edit to add - Man, people are ninjaing me all day today, lol. 



#5 calvinc71

calvinc71

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:16 AM

Do Burst weapons ignore cover completely, or just for armour saves?  That is, do LOS elligible target rules apply to Burst weapons?

If I have a squad inside a building and only one mini is visible to any members of the attacking unit (through window, gap in wall, etc), can they all be wounded as elligble targets or just the visible one?



#6 Seblys

Seblys

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:31 PM

Burst weapons only ignore cover. Pretty sure you still get armour saves against them.



#7 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 04:06 PM

 You still get the armor save, the only things that take away an armor save are snipers and phasers, and you only ever remove what you can claim LOS on.



#8 calvinc71

calvinc71

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 03:35 AM

 sorry, my question was really about target elligibility…  does ignoring covermean that obscured targets can be wounded by a burst weapon?



#9 Wardemon

Wardemon

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 05:29 AM

 Burst weapons, including grenades, only ignore cover thus the damage reducing properties that cover gives you.  if the model is totally obscured, no portion of the model can be seen by the attacking unit, that model is not damaged even with blast or spray attacks.  As on page 44 core rules, models blocked from view to every miniature in the attacking unit can not be assigned damage.  And any damage that can not be assigned is ignored.

Assigned damage

1.  Unobscured models first

2.  Obscured models second (At least a portion of the model is visible from at least one member of the attacking unit)

3.  No model can be assigned more damage than it's damage capacity

4.  Models totally obscured from the attacking unit can not be assigned damage.

The only exception is bombs.  Terrain does not block LOS to bombs, so a unit totally obscured in a building or behind terrain is still damaged by a bomb.  However, with a bomb, the unlucky unit totally obscured does get a cover save.  NOTE:  Those only partially obscured or unobscured would not get a cover save because of the burst ability of a bomb.



#10 Poweranimal

Poweranimal

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 02:43 AM

So…  if I have a unit is in cover, behind sand bags, and no enemy model can draw a line of sight to a miniatures base… then even if they score 3 hits, no damage can be assigned? or is this something you determine with terrain set up with your opponent, like… sandbags cannot completely obscure models, only walls and etc etc etc….?



#11 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 05:26 AM

 Well if you are completely out of LOS then you wouldn't be getting shot at (You need to be in LOS to be attacked), but if there is only one unit visible then only that unit can be removed. the others are safe.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS