Jump to content



Photo

Enemies outside the staging step.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • 505 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:10 AM

Thalin, Core Set hero, reads:

"While Thalin is committed to a quest, deal 1 damage to each enemy as it is revealed by the encounter deck."

now, the thing that's been bugging me for a while is this: If an enemy is added to the staging area at any other time than the staging step: i.e. shadow cards which say "add this enemy to the staging area" - do they still get the damage?

I guess the thing it depends on, is whether Thalin is still committed to the quest, even though you've long since resolved the willpower vs threat and moved on? or is he only counted as being committed to the quest during the questing phase?

 

any thoughts?



#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,817 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:12 AM

characters are comminted to the end of the quest phase….so i guess after then they dont get the damage

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,576 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:14 AM

 Core rule book, page 14: "Characters committed to a quest are considered committed to that quest through the end of the quest phase, unless removed from the quest by a card effect."

Hope that clears things up a bit.

EDIT: Oh, too slow!


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#4 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,817 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:37 AM

Budgernaut said:

 Core rule book, page 14: "Characters committed to a quest are considered committed to that quest through the end of the quest phase, unless removed from the quest by a card effect."

Hope that clears things up a bit.

EDIT: Oh, too slow!

gotcha


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#5 jjeagle

jjeagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:14 AM

Mighty Jim said:

Thalin, Core Set hero, reads:

"While Thalin is committed to a quest, deal 1 damage to each enemy as it is revealed by the encounter deck."

now, the thing that's been bugging me for a while is this: If an enemy is added to the staging area at any other time than the staging step: i.e. shadow cards which say "add this enemy to the staging area" - do they still get the damage?

I guess the thing it depends on, is whether Thalin is still committed to the quest, even though you've long since resolved the willpower vs threat and moved on? or is he only counted as being committed to the quest during the questing phase?

 

any thoughts?

Note also the nuance that (as per the FAQ), a card is only considered to have been "revealed from the encounter deck" (as Thalin requires) if the relevant effect specifically uses the word revealed. "Added to the staging area" wouldn't allow Thalin to hit an enemy.

Example: if an enemy is added to the staging area by Cave Torch during questing, this enemy would not take a damage from Thalin.


"I have no help to send, therefore I must go myself."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS