Jump to content



Photo

Got a question about the first version


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Maraxx

Maraxx

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:52 PM

I got the first version of the game, and I have a doubt. If i play the card Loras Tyrell, and my opponent have two infantry unit, at wich moment I kill one? The total force of my opponent is lowered by one point, due to the lost of the infantry, or it's lost when the battle end? I mean, if my opponent got a force of 5, killing an infantry will make his strenght equal as 4? Sorry for bad english :)



#2 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 02:46 PM

As soon as the cards are revealed, destroy one footman in the battle area.  The strength of the destroyed footman is not added to the battle.  (So if he had 5 strength before, he will only have 4 instead).

Also, if your opponent only had one footman in the area, then you automatically win the battle.  This was changed in the second edition, though.



#3 Maraxx

Maraxx

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 June 2012 - 05:40 AM

Thank you sir :)                                                                                  



#4 Dolus

Dolus

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:15 AM

dypaca said:

Also, if your opponent only had one footman in the area, then you automatically win the battle.  This was changed in the second edition, though.

This is incorrect. As per the errata:

 

Q: If Mace Tyrell's text ability destroys the last remaining defending unit, does the combat still continue?

A: Yes.

 

So the other army will have a strength of 0 from units in the area, but will still gain strength from supporting units and the house card.



#5 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:14 AM

dypaca's response was correct.

first edition: mace tyrell's card cancels combat.

2nd: mace tyrell's card does not cancel combat.

the question was for 1st edition.



#6 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 02:58 PM

Except that it is Loras Tyrell in 1st edition.

Also, since the wording in my post was ambiguous, the automatic win only happens if Loras destroys the only enemy unit in the area.  (So if there is only one footman, but there is also a knight, the battle continues).



#7 Dolus

Dolus

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:54 AM

My bad. >< Somehow I missed "about the first version" or forgot by the time I had read the question.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS