Jump to content



Photo

Gus' Cosmic Zoo


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:36 AM

Hi. I've been a CE fan for some years already. I think it's time to share some if my creatures. There are probably elements from other powers, but I've tried to be as original as possible and make hand management the core in their design.

I'm not an english native speaker, so feel free to make any correction in the texts. Not only my mistakes, but also if you find a better or more concise way to express things. Thanks in advance. Greetings.



#2 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:42 AM

 

 

QUANTUM SURFER

HAS SIMULTANEOUS ENCOUNTERS

You have the power of Ubiquity. You can be in 2 or more places at the same
time. As the offense, after your regroup phase, you may use this power to have
as many simultaneous encounters as you wish (provided you have enough ships
and encounter cards).

Draw destiny cards, choose planets, invite allies, place ships and play one
encounter card simultaneously for each and every encounter. You can have more
than 1 encounter in the same system if destiny cards indicate so. After all cards
are revealed you can then swap the encounter cards you played as you wish.

You cannot have any second encounter when you win, no matter if you use this
power or not.

 

According to the Quantum Superposition Principle, a particle does not occupy a definite
state or location but it is just a blur of overlapping possibilities. It can be in 2 or more
places at the same time. Quantum surfers master this principle. They're everywhere!

OFFENSE ONLY. OPTIONAL

 

 

WILD

At any time, but only once per turn
you may freely move your ships
between your colonies.

Any player. Any time

 

SUPER

When you use your power, after cards
are revealed, you may freely reassign
your ships in your encounters (and
not only your cards). You cannot
have more than 4 ships per encounter
though.

Offense only. Resolution



#3 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:44 AM

 

 

ARMY OF APPLIANCES

RESTRICTS OPPONENT'S OPTIONS

Due to its own nature, Appliances have several powers. In every encounter you
must choose one and only one of them. If your power is zapped, lost, copied or
stolen all of them are included.

As a main player or ally, before encounter cards are selected, you may use this
power to…

You have the power to Wash.
Force your opponent and his allies NOT TO PLAY any Reinforcement card.

You have the power to Dry.
Force your opponent NOT TO PLAY his highest/lowest (your choice) Attack
card. If your opponent cannot play any encounter card because of this, your
power has no effect.

You have the power to Iron.
Force your opponent to return all ships but one to his colonies.

You have the power to Blend.
Force your opponent to play a random encounter card from his hand.

You have the power to Toast.
Force your opponent to accept a Negotiate card played by you as an Attack 08.


Appliances were created by man. They rebelled. They evolved. And they have a plan.

MAIN PLAYER OR ALLY. OPTIONAL

REVEAL

 

WILD

You have a new power (it can be power-zapped):

You have the power to Fry: As a main player or
ally, before selecting cards, you may use this
power to force your opponent to discard his
highest or lowest (your choice) Attack card.

Main player or ally. Planning

SUPER

You have a new power (it can be power-zapped):

You have the power to Freeze: As a main
player or ally, before selecting cards, you may
use this power to force your oponent to
play a Negotiate card. If he has none,
then your side must play a Negotiate card
or lose the encounter.

Main player or ally. Planning



#4 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:46 AM

 

 

SLEEPING MENACE

GETS OUT OF CONTROL

You have the power to Control Yourself. As long as you have it, use this power to hide
your real feelings and keep your impulses under control: shake hands and congratulate
your opponents every time you lose an encounter (or fail a deal); comfort them when you
win. Draw 1 card at the end of your encounters as main player as a reward for your
exquisite manners.

This power cannot be zapped. But…

At any time, if you loose your power for having too few home colonies, you can stop
pretending. There's nothing in the whole universe that could stop you because now you
are OUT OF CONTROL! Once the current encounter is over:

- You become the player in turn
- Draw 20 additional cards (cosmic or reward decks)
- Retrieve all your ships from the warp
- Get the Sleeping Menace's flare no matter where it is.
- Let yourself go!

It took eons to tame the beasts, the undisputed fiercest creatures in the whole universe.
Nobody never ever dare to awake THE SLEEPING MENACE!

 

AS ANY PLAYER. MANDATORY

ALL

 

WILD

After you regroup phase, before
you draw a Destiny card, you may
place a wild on top of the Destiny deck.

As the offense. Destiny.

SUPER

Remember you cannot use this
super if you've lost your power.

When you draw a card at the end of
your encounters, you may draw it
from the Reward deck or from the
hand of a player of your choice.

 

Main player or ally. Resolution



#5 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:55 AM

 

GOSSIP

GETS CLUES OF CARDS

You have the power to Spread Rumors. As a main player, before cards
are revealed, you may use this power to force your opponent to show his
encounter card to all players except yoursef. They must keep it secret.

-If it is an Attack, they must show you their CLOSEST attack card.
-If it is not, they must show you their HIGHEST Attack card.
-If they have no attack cards they must say it loud and clear.

After listenig to all these rumors, you may swap the encounter card you
played with any other one from your hand.

As an ally, before cards are revealed, you may use this power to see your
opponent's card and show one of your rumor-cards to your ally in the
same way. He may then change his encounter card. You are allowed not
to rumor at all after watching the card.

 

Rumors, rumors. They're only rumors!

 

MAIN PLAYER OR ALLY. OPTIONAL

REVEAL

 

WILD

Choose one player and force him
to tell how many cards of one
kind (your choice) he has in his
hand: Attack, Negotiate, Flare…

Any player. All

SUPER

In an encounter in which you are not
main player nor ally, you may see one
of the encounter cards at play. You may
then threaten the owner. You'll tell it
unless allowed to take 1 random card
from his hand. In case you finally
reveal the card, you may lie.

Not main player or ally. Planning



#6 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 04:24 AM

 

 

VAPOUR

REMOVES ATTACK CARDS

You have the power of Evaporation. As a main player, after encounter
cards are played but before they're revealed, you may use this power to take
both encounter cards and place them on this sheet to form your 'cloud'. The
encounter proceeds without them. Players can still play Reinforcements and
Kickers remain in play but apply to the player's ships.

The cards in your cloud are not part of your hand and cannot be stolen, zapped…

At any time that you loose your power (zapped or for few home colonies), take
all the cards in your cloud, add to your hand those you like and give the rest
to the rest of player as you wish. This is called condensation.

 

 


After eons of research, Vapours mastered the art of storing things in the cloud.

MAIN PLAYER OR ALLY. OPTIONAL

REVEAL

 

WILD

At any time and as any player you may
evaporate (send to the discard pile)
any one card in play (Artifact, Flare,
Kicker, Reinforcement,…) and prevent
its effect to happen.

If you evaporate one encounter card
after it's revealed, its owner may
replace it with another. If he or
she can't, then this Flare has no effect.

Once used, you must discard this Flare.

Any player. All

SUPER

As a main player, before selecting
cards, you may evaporate 1 card of
any kind from your hand and place
it in your cloud.

Main player only. Planning

 

 

 

 



#7 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 04:28 AM

 

 

GAS

INFLATES ATTACK CARDS

You have the power to Expand (Compress). As a main player, after cards are
revealed and only if both cards are an Attack, you may use this power to declare
you are going to 'Expand' ('Compress') and then change your Attack card for a
higher (lower) one from your hand. Your opponent may do the same. If he has
not such a card he'll keep his current one. You may repeat this operation as
many times as you want.

At the end of the encounter you must discard ALL the cards you played. Your
opponent will only discard his last played card.

 

 

 


Gases are a far relative of Vapours, both share a common ethereal ancestor, but
after moving to a more a hostile environment, they became a more aggresive
specimen.

 

MAINPLAYER ONLY. OPTIONAL

REVEAL

 

WILD

As a main player or ally, after
cards are revealed, you may
play Negotiate cards from your
hand as if they were
Reinforcement +3 cards.

Any player. All

SUPER

At the end of the encounter, you
may discard all the cards you played
or only the last one (your choice).

Offense only. Resolution



#8 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 04:40 AM

 

 

RECYCLER

RECYCLES PLAYER'S CARDS

Game Setup: You are dealt two separate eight-card hands. Look at them and
choose one to be your "Recycling Facility". Place it facedown on this sheet.

You have the power of Recycling. At the begining of every turn, use this
power and offer your services to main players (first offense, then defender).
They may give you 1 card from their hands to recycle. Take the card, add it
to your hand if you like it, discard it otherwise and, in return, give them 1
card of your choice and of the same kind (Flare, Attack, Negotiate, …) from
your recycling facility. If there's no such card available, then choose one of a
different kind.

When your facility runs out of cards, refill it with a new 8-card hand.

As a main player you may use your facilty yourself and recycle 1 of your cards.

 

"Environmentally friendy Alien" doesn't necessarily mean "Friendly Alien".

AS ANY PLAYER. MANDATORY

ALL

 

 

WILD

Choose a player with at least
2 cards. Force that player to
accept 1 card of your choice
from your hand.

In return, he must show you 2
of his cards. Choose 1 and add
it to your hand.

Any player. All

SUPER

When you had to refill your facility
with a new hand, you may
immediately use it yourself.

As main player. Start turn

 

 

 



#9 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:05 AM

This one is a bit tricky. It may need some work before it's fully functional but it's fun.

 

 

INFRARED

PLAYS INVISIBLE ITEMS

You have the power of Invisibility. At any time and as any player, you may use your power
to play invisible ships and cards.To place ships just pretend you do it. To play a card just play
a facedown card from your hand and name it ("This is a Power Zap" or "This is a Kicker").
All players are forced to accept that what you say is real. Once discarded, the effects of any
invisible card, are considered irreversible.

As a main player, after cards are revealed, announce how many ships you placed on the cone
and the value of the cards you played, but keep them face down (e.g "This is a Kicker x3" or
"This is an Attack 15"). Finish the encounter as if those cards were actually played (win or
lose the encounter, discard used cards, send ships to the Warp,…)

However, at any time, your opponent or any player affected by your cards may discard 2
Negotiate cards to turn his infrared scan on. This will turn ALL your items at play and those
still to be played visible. Place real ships and turn face up ALL your cards at play (kickers
and encounter cards inclusive). From that moment on, you must play all your cards faceup.

If you are found to be cheating, you must concede your opponent or any player afected by
your cards, 1 colony with 1 ship in one of your planets regardless of the result of the encounter.

We're surrounded by them. Thousands, millions of invaders. But nobody has seen them …yet.

 

ANY PLAYER. OPTIONAL

ALL

 

WILD

You may play any facedown card
from your hand as a Kicker x1. If
you do it, don't show this flare until
the reveal phase.

Main player. Planning

SUPER

Players need to discard 3 Negotiates
to activate their infrared scans.

 

Any player. All


 



#10 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:53 AM

 

 

POLLEN

BLOCK OPPONENT'S CARDS

You have the power of Fertility. As a main player, before encounter cards are
selected, use this power to pollinate your opponent by placing a token in front of
him. Pollen tokens are cumulative. Then use this power to choose and block as
many random cards in your opponent's hand as tokens he has in front of him.
Place those cards apart so it's clear they can't be used.

If your opponent has no encounter cards left to play then the fertilization process
is over and your opponent blooms: add to your hand the remaining cards in his
hand, take his blocked cards and choose one of them to be his encounter card.
Finally, remove all his pollen tokens.

Once the encounter is over return blocked cards to their owner's hand.

 

 

Pollens are one of the most intriguing creatures across the universe. They breed massively
yet their civilization considers no ritual or need of engagement between their specimens.

 

MAIN PLAYER ONLY. MANDATORY

PLANNING

 

WILD

As a main player or ally, before selecting
cards, you may block 1 random card
in your opponent's hand. This card
cannot be used until the turn is over.

Main player or ally. Planning

SUPER

As a main player, before selecting
cards, you may block 1 additional
card in your opponent's hand.

 

Main player only. Planning

 

 



#11 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:57 AM

 

 

HOLOGRAM

DEPLOYS DECOYS

You have the power of Holography. As a main player, before encounter cards
are selected, you may use this power to create holograms. First, announce aloud
which encounter card you are going to play ("Attack 15"), then place 3 encounter
cards, face down, in front of you. One must be the real one, the other 2 are just
holograms regardless of their value.

Your opponent must then play one encounter card from his hand at a time, face
up, in front of one of your cards. That card is then revealed. If it is the real card
then both of them are used in the encounter which proceeds as usual. If it's not,
both are discarded and he tries again. Once the real card is unveiled, the rest of
holograms (if any) return to your hand.

You cannot use this power if have less than 3 encounter cards.

 

Billions of holograms approach our system!… Or is it only one?

 

MAIN PLAYER ONLY. OPTIONAL

PLANNING

WILD

You may play any card from your hand
as a perfect copy of a card played by
another player (it will become the same
Artifact, Flare, Reinforment, Kicker,
Attack,..). Discard it at the end of turn.

Any player. All

SUPER

As a main player, during your launch
phase you may create holographic
ships for the encounter which will
triple the number of ships actually
played. Those virtual ships don't
count for compensations.

Main player only. Launch.

 



#12 Gus

Gus

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:06 PM

 

 

BEATLE

MERGES ATTACK CARDS

You have the power to Cumulate. At the end of each player's turn, after
encounter cards are discarded, you may use your power to retrieve one or
both encounter cards from the discard pile, in case they're Attack cards.

To retrieve 1 card, discard Attack cards from your hand for the same or higher
total value, then draw as many additional cards as you discarded minus 1 (so,
after the merge, you have as many cards as you had before).

Example: you may discard an Attack 04, 06 and 08 to retrieve an Attack 15 and
then draw 2 additional cards.

 

 

Beatles are known for their restless activity. If they were the only living creatures
in the universe, it would only take 1 or 2 eons for them to gather all the matter in
the universe. This supermassive ball would eventually collapse and generate a
black hole such that could only lead to a second Big Bang. Or so I'm told.
Fortunately they can be stopped.

 

ANY PLAYER. OPTIONAL

RESOLUTION

 

WILD

As a main player, before selecting
cards, you may discard 2 Negotiate
cards to draw 1 card from
cosmic or reward decks. Show it
to the rest of players. If it is another
Negotiate card you must keep all 3.

As a main player. Planning

SUPER

You may discard a Negotiate as if it
was an Attack 10 when retrieving
cards from the discard pile.

Any player. Resolution

 

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS