Jump to content



Photo

Khal Drogos response question/ Triggered abilities/ effect


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 363 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:08 AM

1) After Khal Drogo is killed you can find x Dothraki characters , meanwhile there is the plot card 'Burning Bridges ' in play. Could Khal Drogo still use his response as an in play action ?

2) How do you define a 'triggered ability compared to a triggered effect ?

 

Thanks



#2 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,645 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:43 AM

Daenarys said:

1) After Khal Drogo is killed you can find x Dothraki characters , meanwhile there is the plot card 'Burning Bridges ' in play. Could Khal Drogo still use his response as an in play action ?
No. Burning Bridges says "Players cannot trigger abilities on character, location, and attachment cards in play." The Khal's Response is an ability on a character that is in play (though moribund). So the plot directly stops the player from using the ability.

Daenarys said:

2) How do you define a 'triggered ability compared to a triggered effect ?
Straight from the FAQ: A triggered effect is any card effect that only happens because the players chooses for it to happen. So anything that starts with a bold timing word like "Any Phase," "Marshaling," or "Response" that only initiates because a players initiates it is a card effect. A triggered ability is any triggered effect that is initiated when the card is in play. 



#3 sabrefox

sabrefox

    Member

  • Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 11:13 AM

Don't you mean "only initiates because a players initiates it is a triggered effect", not "card effect"?  Other threads have defined "card effect" with a much broader scope, including (most but not all) passive effects, keywords and plot effects.



#4 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,645 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 02:23 PM

sabrefox said:

Don't you mean "only initiates because a players initiates it is a triggered effect", not "card effect"?  Other threads have defined "card effect" with a much broader scope, including (most but not all) passive effects, keywords and plot effects.
Read it again:

"A triggered effect is any card effect that only happens because the players chooses for it to happen."

How is that any different than what you just said, or defining "card effect" instead of "triggered effect"?



#5 sabrefox

sabrefox

    Member

  • Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 04:00 PM

ktom said:

sabrefox said:

Don't you mean "only initiates because a players initiates it is a triggered effect", not "card effect"?  Other threads have defined "card effect" with a much broader scope, including (most but not all) passive effects, keywords and plot effects.

Read it again:

 

"A triggered effect is any card effect that only happens because the players chooses for it to happen."

How is that any different than what you just said, or defining "card effect" instead of "triggered effect"?

Its not.  You'll notice that my quote was not from your first sentence in the reply to Daenarys, but the second where you state, So anything that starts with a bold timing word like "Any Phase," "Marshaling," or "Response" that only initiates because a players initiates it is a card effect.  I was simply pointing out that your example better illustrates a triggered effect (which is what I thought you meant to type), not a card effect.  Granted, a triggered effect is also a card effect (cue a Venn diagram of two concentric circles - the inner labled Triggered Effects and the outer labeled Card Effects), but that goes beyond Daenarys' question.



#6 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,645 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 06:22 PM

My mistake. I'm reading the wrong part of the answer.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS