Jump to content



Photo

Two first game questions please


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Lilikin

Lilikin

    Member

  • Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 08:54 PM

I am sure they have been asked before but hey this Forum needs a few more posts :)

 

1.  I have all the add ons whats the best stratergy cards?  I am after a mixed game with lots of diplomacy and politics etc thoughts?

2.  If I had say four fleets sitting on opposite edges of the maps am I right in saying I could activate a system at the centre of the map and move all of the fleets towards the centre of the map at the number of spaces the unit can move?  Sounds like cheesy moving rules to me


Wait lassie what's that noise? A few people telling FFG on a forum how to make their own games, well lassie that told them

I have three more ships than you so my opinion is twice as valid!!

#2 Treguard

Treguard

    Member

  • Members
  • 202 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 09:27 PM

With regards to your second question, you can move ships from any non-activated system to a system you have activated this turn, as long as you obey fleet supply and each ship has a clear route to the destination. With your example, as long as the ships are in range, then yes you can have ships from different points on the map converge in the activated system- but only enough capital (non-fighter) ships that your fleet supply can allow.

As far as I am aware, there is an action card that can allow you to go "all-in" with as many ships that can move that turn, for that one mega attack- the downside being that all ships above your fleet supply get removed/destroyed at the end of the tactical action.
 



#3 Lilikin

Lilikin

    Member

  • Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 09:37 PM

Treguard said:

With regards to your second question, you can move ships from any non-activated system to a system you have activated this turn, as long as you obey fleet supply and each ship has a clear route to the destination. With your example, as long as the ships are in range, then yes you can have ships from different points on the map converge in the activated system- but only enough capital (non-fighter) ships that your fleet supply can allow.

As far as I am aware, there is an action card that can allow you to go "all-in" with as many ships that can move that turn, for that one mega attack- the downside being that all ships above your fleet supply get removed/destroyed at the end of the tactical action.
 

 

Ok Thank you, the verification I was after was the one given in the book where you activate a system two hex's away and half the fleet move 1 and the other half move 2 the ones move one square leaving them short does this mean that you could activate a system four squares away leaving none of the units moved on the activated system.  Or have a massively miss read the rules?


Wait lassie what's that noise? A few people telling FFG on a forum how to make their own games, well lassie that told them

I have three more ships than you so my opinion is twice as valid!!

#4 Treguard

Treguard

    Member

  • Members
  • 202 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 02:31 AM

Lilikin said:

 

Ok Thank you, the verification I was after was the one given in the book where you activate a system two hex's away and half the fleet move 1 and the other half move 2 the ones move one square leaving them short does this mean that you could activate a system four squares away leaving none of the units moved on the activated system.  Or have a massively miss read the rules?

 

 

Just had a look at the rulebook, page 13 lists different examples of movement. I think you're referring to the dreadnought and carrier, each with Movement 1 and 2 respectively. It may not be apparent from reading Point 1, but the dreadnought, being unable to reach the activated system, cannot move at all. The cruiser can, having the Movement 2 range.

The only restrictions in movement shown in the example are:

  • Moving through a system with enemy ship(s) present*
  • Moving FROM an already activated system (Moving THROUGH an activated system is legal)
  • Lacking the necessary Movement Range*
  • Moving through a Supernova**

*Can be modified with technologies

** Does not necessarily apply to the Embers of Muuat race 

As to the supernova, page 18 details specific rules regarding the special (red-bordered) systems.

Remember the golden rule with movement, and activating a system in general: ships and units will always be going INTO that system, ie via new production, or through movement. You never activate a system to move ships out of it.

Hope this helps!



#5 Lilikin

Lilikin

    Member

  • Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 03:01 AM

Thank you!

 

+1


Wait lassie what's that noise? A few people telling FFG on a forum how to make their own games, well lassie that told them

I have three more ships than you so my opinion is twice as valid!!




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS