Jump to content



Photo

Query about Stories that gain Struggle Icons


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Cplwilks

Cplwilks

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 05:25 AM

Apologies if this has been answered before - I have had a look through the forum and FAQ but couldn't find anything (or i'm just stupid…)

If a Story gains struggle icons (such as from 'Open for Inspection'), where do these struggles resolve?  Do they get inserted with the others (ie if 'Open for Inspection' is added to a normal story, does it resolve Terror, Combat, Arcane, Arcane, Investigation, Investigation, Investigation) or does it get added at the end (ie using the same example, does it resolve Terror, Combat, Arcane, Investigation, Arcane, Investigation, Investigation)

Hope that makes some sort of sense?

Text for Open for Inspection

Open for Inspection
Type: Support Faction: Miskatonic University
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Attachment. Environment
Attach to a story card. Attached story gains: [Arcane][Intrigue][Intrigue]
Set: Core
Number: 34
Illustrator: Paul Burrow



#2 Surreal

Surreal

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 06:16 AM

 (Terror, Combat, Arcane, Arcane, Investigation, Investigation, Investigation) in that case.

Rulebook:

There are a few cards that have a large struggle icon (identical to
those on the story cards) printed in their text box. When such a
card is either attached to a story or committed to a story, it forces
an additional icon struggle of that type while the story is being
resolved. This additional icon struggle is resolved according to the
order of the printed icons.
Example: If Sleep of Reason is attached to a story, a Terror struggle
would resolve four times–once as normal and one additional time immediately thereafter (before Combat) for each Terror icon brought by
Sleep of Reason.

Another question is will Sleep of Reason add terror struggle to a story where is no printed terror struggle at all. But I would guess it would add terror struggle.



#3 Cplwilks

Cplwilks

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 06:48 AM

Surreal said:

 (Terror, Combat, Arcane, Arcane, Investigation, Investigation, Investigation) in that case.

Rulebook:

There are a few cards that have a large struggle icon (identical to
those on the story cards) printed in their text box. When such a
card is either attached to a story or committed to a story, it forces
an additional icon struggle of that type while the story is being
resolved. This additional icon struggle is resolved according to the
order of the printed icons.
Example: If Sleep of Reason is attached to a story, a Terror struggle
would resolve four times–once as normal and one additional time immediately thereafter (before Combat) for each Terror icon brought by
Sleep of Reason.

Another question is will Sleep of Reason add terror struggle to a story where is no printed terror struggle at all. But I would guess it would add terror struggle.

Thanks surreal, clearly I couldn't see the glaringly obvious rule description in the book (remind me to get my eyes tested…)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS