Jump to content



Photo

Black Ops question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Neebs

Neebs

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:28 PM

 Can anyone explain the special ability, 'Black Ops'?  It says that during the command phase the unit may be issued an order for free ( the player does not spend an order). 

So… Does the unit receive a reaction marker?

Can the unit receive an order in addition to the Black Ops 'free' order?

Thanks!



#2 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:47 PM


So… Does the unit receive a reaction marker?

Yes, it does. 


Can the unit receive an order in addition to the Black Ops 'free' order?

No. 

 

Black Ops benefits you in two ways:


  1. It's an extra order in addition to the orders allowed by your dice roll in the Command Phase, and any other special abilities which add to your order total (+1 for a Command Squad leading a Platoon, e.g.). 

  2. The unit (Currently Bazooka Joe) with the Black Ops ability can be ordered in the Command Phase even if it (he) is outside of the 12" Command Radius of any commanders without having to use the precious once per turn radio ability. 




#3 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 07:06 PM

 Neebs said:

 

So… Does the unit receive a reaction marker?

Yes, it does. 
Neebs said:

 

Can the unit receive an order in addition to the Black Ops 'free' order?

 

No. 

 

Black Ops benefits you in two ways:

  1. It's an extra order in addition to the orders allowed by your dice roll in the Command Phase, and any other special abilities which add to your order total (+1 for a Command Squad leading a Platoon, e.g.). 
  2. The unit (Currently Bazooka Joe) with the Black Ops ability can be ordered in the Command Phase even if it (he) is outside of the 12" Command Radius of any commanders without having to use the precious once per turn radio ability. 

 



#4 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 07:10 PM

 Sorry for the triple post. I tried editing a grammar error in the first on, and somehow it erased everything displayed even though the text is still there. 

 

The second one, my Split-Quote-Fu is somehow lacking, but the gist of what I'm saying is there, and should satisfy the OP questions with the answers. I hope. 



#5 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 09:31 PM

Just do exactly what it says, they get an action exactly as if they received it from their Command, it just doesn't cost the Command any of its command points.



#6 Neebs

Neebs

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:30 AM

 Thank you for the clarification.  Just To be clear, wouldn't the 2nd benefit (getting the command out of the 12" range) be granted to any unit with a hero?



#7 CaulynDarr

CaulynDarr

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:43 AM

 Since Black-Ops is not shared, can a unit that Bazooka Joe is attached to still use it?



#8 felkor

felkor

    Member

  • Members
  • 998 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 02:05 AM

CaulynDarr said:

 Since Black-Ops is not shared, can a unit that Bazooka Joe is attached to still use it?

 

Yes.  It doesn't need to be shared, really, since if Bazooka Joe is attached to the squad, he becomes the unit leader for that squad, so giving him an order is the same as giving the whole squad an order.



#9 Shadow4ce

Shadow4ce

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 04:40 AM

Neebs said:

 Thank you for the clarification.  Just To be clear, wouldn't the 2nd benefit (getting the command out of the 12" range) be granted to any unit with a hero?

 

Yes, but I suspect we'll see a, "Black Ops" unit at some point, so it future-proofs the rules to make the redundant ability on Bazooka Joe be something a future unit can benefit from. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS