Jump to content



Photo

Move/Attack Question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kidkaboom44

kidkaboom44

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 09:02 AM

Let's say there are three adjacent spaces as below.

A   B

   C

I control "C" another player controls "B" and "A" is neutral.  I place a move order on "C."  I have an army of 4 units and declare that I am moving (attacking) "B" with 2 units and moving 1 unit into "A."  In what order is this resolved?

For example, if I lose the battle for "B" can I then decide not to move my troops into "A" and stay back.  Or, did the moves happen at the same time and my troops are already in space "A?"

I hope this isn't addressed somewhere else already, and if so, I missed it.  I appreciate the help.

 

KidKaboom

 



#2 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 409 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 01:37 PM

It's answered here:

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp



#3 Big Easy

Big Easy

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 10:34 AM

 The way I have always played is marcher's choice. Attack march first, then move non-attacking units; or non-attacking first then march. 



#4 Joeyk1985

Joeyk1985

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 01:29 PM

Big Easy said:

 The way I have always played is marcher's choice. Attack march first, then move non-attacking units; or non-attacking first then march. 

I'm pretty  much sure it says somewhere in the rulebook that u must march first into non-combat areas (empty) and then to enemy territory and resolve combat…

Hint: A neutral area still counts as 1 combat per march order and is therefore resolved last. See examples below:

A is your area with the march order

B and C are adjacent and are an enemy's area

D and E are adjacent and have no enemy/influence/neutral force on it

F and G are adjacent neutral forces (eyrie/king's landing at beginning of game)

You can do the following:

1- march to D and/or E, then

2- march into combat to B or C or F or G



#5 Tbla

Tbla

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:48 PM

Joeyk1985 said:

 

 

I'm pretty  much sure it says somewhere in the rulebook that u must march first into non-combat areas (empty) and then to enemy territory and resolve combat…

Found it:

"Before resolving combat, all other non-combat
movement from the area assigned the March Order
must be completed." (Rulebook p.15)

So I guess you can move the units in any order you wish (but it's easier to manage if you move the non-combat  ones first) but you must move them all before resolving the combat.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS