Laser Grenadiers

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Vepr

Vepr

• Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:48 AM

I am new to the game and I am going to be playing axis.  I bought the tactics set along with a zombies box, laser grenadiers, and the rule book.  I was looking forward to running Blutkruez platoon with zombies and guys using lasers.  The setup just appealed to me and I really like the way they look.  Anyways I have seen some people making vague references to laser grenadiers being unbalanced in a few threads but I could not tell if they meant too powerful for their points or not worth their points.  If they are not that great I can live with it because I like their looks but I don't want to be running around with a units that are broken and have my friends accusing me of cheese after a few games.  I have looked at them in the rule book and they seem decent with their ability to hurt about anything but they do not seem over powering especially at their points cost unless I am missing something.

Thank you.

#2 felkor

felkor

• Members
  • 998 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:50 AM

They're definitely not overpowered.  In Dust Tactics, laser grenadiers can keep rerolling as long as they keep rolling hits, which can potentially lead up to massive amounts of damage.  That's not true in Dust Warfare, where they are only allowed to reroll hits once.

Lasers are quite nice, but in Dust Warfare there is plenty to balance them out and no one will accuse you of using cheesy overpowered units.

#3 Vepr

Vepr

• Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:54 AM

Thanks I appreciate the response.  I starting to worry and had images of my friends with smirks and raised eyebrows as I set my army out…  

#4 Gobbo

Gobbo

• Members
  • 365 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:06 PM

Missed that change to the Laser Specail Rule.  Must Read more carefully!!!

#5 CSMason26

CSMason26

• Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:28 PM