How to design a Battlefield?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

• Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:22 PM

So I am rather new to the table top game thing and I looking find tips on designing a good battlefield to play on, like where to place terrain and how to make the table fun to play on.

#2 CSMason26

CSMason26

• Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:51 PM

It's all up to you but in the book they show some aspects of where you could put terrain, ect., 

As a rule of thumb, when we played AT-43 my local group and I we tried to make sure there were at least 2 things in mind when placing terrain for the table top. 

1. Make sure there's enough of it to get cover, you may normally want at least 25% of the board to be covered in varying levels of soft and hard cover. (Warhammer suggests you use that much, some games don't really require it but cover is useful to both players.)
2. Make sure that there's enough room between terrain for figures to move around comfortably. I remember playing a game of AT-43 and I had totally forgotten I brought the largest vehicle in the game and when we placed terrain and we rolled for deployment, I got stuck on the side where my model could come onto the board but couldn't move through. 

Luckily Dust/FFG has some new buildings. You could buy one or two of the Cerberus campaign pack and a few of the little buildings they have up for preorder. 

#3 HuronBH

HuronBH

• Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:58 PM

I suggest using a variety of terrain and not just a lot of one type.  Check out the Dust Warfare Terrain section for ideas on different types and how they effect the game.  I also suggest placing them so that each piece has a gap of 2-3 inches at least between each piece.  This will prevent situations like CSMason26 mentioned.